Invoices - screen and print differences
edited July 2019 in Reckon One
the columns and rows are different between print and screen view. Why?
this is the screen
this is the print
this is the screen
this is the print
Inigo Member Posts: 201 ✭Michael,
You need to change the 'display order' of the columns.
Create a new invoice
Customise the invoice template
That is in quickbooks... not reckon one. there are no options that I can find in reckon one to adjust the columns on the invoice...
Judging by your screen shots i'm assuming that you're using Reckon One.
Reckon One currently has two invoice templates available, the professional invoice template & the standard invoice template.
I have included a picture below showing both templates. You can set a default invoice template in sales preferences (Administration menu > Sales preferences).
Unfortunately these templates cannot be modified in regards to column ordering. I have sent your feedback to the Reckon One development team regarding that issue.
In your question you mentioned both the columns & rows are different between screen & print.
I can't tell from the screen shot however Is the row ordering also changing for you when printing?
Note: Lines/rows containing description text only won't print. If you want to include a note to a customer you can use the 'Notes' section on the bottom of the invoice. If you want to include a line/row note to a customer then you can update the default line/row description accordingly.
I have looked a bit more into description only lines on invoices. They should really be showing on the print out as well, but currently they are not.
Good find! Thanks for raising both of these issues. I have also passed this feedback to the Reckon One development team.
I was using a trial and I paid the monthly. Now I have a "book" but cant open it......0
Regarding the issue about not being able to open your book. Please contact the support team
1300 RKN ONE (1300 756 663)
Just an update for yourself & other community members, the issue regarding memo lines not printing for invoices is fixed & that fix will be available in the Reckon One update that is scheduled later this month.
There are two other fixes (available in the update scheduled later this month) that come to mind when looking at your screen shot:
1. If you have saved an invoice where you have not set any line discounts, the printed invoice will no longer show the empty discount column.
2. The column widths in printed invoices will now use space more efficiently, so depending on the data available in each column, the column widths will automatically resize (e.g. reduce/increase) accordingly. Using your screen shot as an example the 'Qty', 'Price', 'tax' & 'Amount' column widths will reduce in width (trimming the empty unused spacing) & this will free up room for the 'Description' column to increase in width.
As far as customising the column ordering in invoices, as per my previous posts on this thread, this feedback has been passed onto the development team. Currently there are two invoice templates available in Reckon One & each of these use a different column ordering.
It sounds like you are accepting that the product purchased by Reckon customers was not fit for use. Eg for one thing, invoice print preview does not do what it says, not to mention the unprofessional appearance created when Reckon users simply email the invoice directly to thei customers.
I have discovered this same problem after being alerted by a customer. The problem is not just missing boundary lines. It also includes missing headings. The overall effect is very unprofessional.
The print preview looks fine but the printed and emailed documents are deficient. The same applies to pdf invoices saved into folders.
Reckon customers should not have to pay for updates to fix software that is not fit for use. So what is Reckon's policy on making customers pay twice for the promised functionality?
Thanks for your feedback. I see that you have noticed my previous posts on this thread.
I'd like to confirm a few things you have raised in your post so that I can better understand the issues you are experiencing with Reckon One.
Reckon One currently has 4 invoice templates available & each template has a different format.
- Professional Invoice
- Standard Invoice
- Products & Services Invoice
- Generic Invoice
You can edit an invoice template & enable or disable certain components of the template header, content (body) or footer. When managing an invoice template, clicking the 'Preview' option opens a new browser tab & displays the selected invoice template with sample data (sample data being X's & 9's).
When viewing a saved invoice in Reckon One, clicking the 'Print' option opens a new browser tab & displays the saved invoice data using the applicable invoice template selected for the invoice. From here you can print the invoice.
When emailing an invoice from Reckon One, a popup window appears before the email is sent. At the bottom is a PDF attachment of the invoice. Clicking on this attachment will allow you to view the invoice.
You mentioned the invoice print preview not working as expected. Are you able to provide some more information on this.
Can you please upload example screenshots or explain in more detail the scenario where the invoice is missing the heading, missing the boundary boundary & the deficient documents so I can better understand the issue.
Reckon One is a monthly subscription product. Product updates for Reckon One are released regularly (usually once or twice a month). Updates include enhancements, new features & bug fixes. The monthly subscription cost is calculated according to the number of books setup & the modules selected for those books. Product updates are included in the product subscription & not charged in addition.
Thanks for replying so promptly.
Note that the screen shot below shows the print preview on the left and the actual printed invoice (which is the same as the emailed invoice) on the right. Note that, for example, the TAX INVOICE heading is missing from the right hand (customer's) copy. As you know this is therefore not a legal tax invoice.
Is it right that Reckon represent that its product is only legally compliant if their customers buy a subscription? There was no mention of that when I bought my version. In fact I believe the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission would have something to say about that.
This is a fundamental flaw in the product. It demonstrates that it is not fit for use, as sold. I'm not saying that Reckon should never have bugs but I am saying that Reckon should remedy such fundamental bugs at no additional cost to its customers i.e. provide the product functionality as represented when it was purchased.
Appreciate the additional information. After viewing the jpg screen shot I noticed that you are using the Reckon Accounts product.
This thread relates to Reckon One which is a seperate product to Reckon Accounts. I'll request for someone in the Reckon Accounts support team to follow up with you on this enquiry.
Re this forum, I was ignorant of the product differences. Sorry!
Rav Administrator Posts: 13,460 Community ManagerHi Russell,
I'd suggest creating a new thread on this as it relates to Reckon Accounts but just a couple of things to check off
Check the following..
File > Printer Setup > Select Tax Invoice in the Form Name selection > Ensure the "Do not print lines around each field" option is not ticked.
Related KB article - http://kb.reckon.com.au/issue_view.asp?ID=552
Does this help on this?
Let me know
Rav, thanks. It did work! I believe I owe everyone an apology for venting my spleen unnecessarily. Please forgive my outburst. I am very grateful. Regards Russell2
- 18.1K All Categories
- 6.2K Accounts Hosted
- 5.7K Reckon Accounts (Desktop)
- 10 PaySauce for Reckon Accounts NZ
- 2.9K Reckon One
- 7 Reckon Invoices App
- 940 Reckon Payroll App
- 11 Payroll App - Help Videos
- 13 Reckon Mate App
- 11 Reckon Insights
- 104 Reckon API
- 764 Payroll Premier
- 290 Point of Sale (Desktop)
- 1.8K Personal Plus and Home & Business
- 50 About Reckon Community