Items and Services in Job Tracking

Options
Hannah_7538100
Hannah_7538100 Member Posts: 6
edited February 2017 in Accounts Hosted

Hi, Im Just beginning to use the Job tracking fuctions
within Reckon but Im having a little trouble getting my head around the Items and Services. When I record a sale via an invoice I select an item such as “Shed Kit” . That shed kit item is linked to the Income Account “Shed Kit Sales”.

When I write a cheque( in relation to that job where I sold the shed) I select items section within the cheque to record the expense. I had to purchase the shed kit initially so I select the item “Shed kit”.

On the job profitability report it all looks correct however isn’t my profit and loss now incorrect because the cost to purchase the shed kit isn’t linked to the correct account. Its going to the income account.

But if I create 2 “shed kit” items, one linked to the income account and one linked to the expense account, my job profitability reports don’t match up.

What have I missed or what am I doing wrong?.

Comments

• gazza73
    gazza73 Accredited Partner Posts: 803 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited February 2017
    Options
    IN your ITEMS list, for "Shed Kit",  tick the BOX that says you resell this item,  Then you can define the selling CoA account (income)  as well as the Expense CoA account for the purchase side.

Gary
  • Hannah_7538100
    edited September 2015
    Options
    Thanks very much Gary. Could you also please advise, when I create an estimate. Should I be entering the Retail prices here (what Im quoting the customer) or do I enter what I estimate the costs to be? Im looking at the Job Estimtes vs Job Actual reports and The amounts that I have entered in the estimate are appearing in the estimate revenue and the estimated cost columns. Clearly this is not correct. What am I doing wrong?
  • gazza73
    gazza73 Accredited Partner Posts: 803 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited December 2016