Installation of Reckon Accounts 2018 R1 & STP

ShaneShane Member Posts: 3
edited August 2019 in Accounts Business Range
When upgrading Reckon Accounts 2018 R1 with STP, is the STP feature something that has to be installed on individual machines or just on the file server? I am in a domain environment with end users connecting to a file server.

UPDATE: Upon installing Reckon Accounts with company File Server on our file server I cannot access the company file and receive an error of -6000 & -80.

Comments

  • ZappyZappy Accredited Partner Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2019
    No
  • ZappyZappy Accredited Partner Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2019
    The 6000 error suggests you have not shared the file properly. Have you run the database server manager on the file location?
  • ShaneShane Member Posts: 3
    edited April 2018
    Yes. Reckon Accounts has the file server installed and the Service is running.
  • ZappyZappy Accredited Partner Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭
    edited April 2018
    Have you shared the file?
  • ShaneShane Member Posts: 3
    edited April 2018
    Yes. We have previously used Reckon Accounts 2017. Permissions are set correctly, nothing has changed & the new QBDBSM user has been included in the permissions.
  • gazza73gazza73 Accredited Partner Posts: 1,432 ✭✭
    edited April 2018
    Shane.  Kevin was pointing to the TWO sharing requirements on your file server. 

    One is the Windows folder sharing scenario which is a Windows prerequisite at the operating system file sharing level. 

    But the existence of the QBDBSM service also requires that service to be fired up, the shared folder selected, and the SCAN button clicked to add all the QBW  database company files for potential use by the other PCs around the LAN.  It's not clear from your last answer if you did all that selection/scanning aspect. please.

    Gary
  • gazza73gazza73 Accredited Partner Posts: 1,432 ✭✭
    edited April 2018
    AND:  double check that the NON_server (other PC) users have not incorrectly enabled host sharing too.  You can only have one central Host server in the game  (ie:  your central file server PC)


Sign In or Register to comment.