Error message “Either the ATO is down or Reckon SBR is unavailable”

Susana ChengSusana Cheng Member Posts: 4
First time got this error message. Please advise what to do to resolve the issue. Thanks and Regards, Susana image
«1

Comments

  • MikeMike Member Posts: 18
    edited September 2019
    hi Susana , 

    i am having the same problem since 2 days ago. 
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,785 Administrator
    edited September 2019
    Hi guys,
    We've just received word that the ATO's SBR2 service (which handles STP transmissions) has been experiencing issues over the weekend and as a result there will be some strange messages coming through from the ATO from submissions.
    At present (Monday morning, 16/9) it looks like there are still some problems affecting the service and we haven't been given an ETA from them as yet.

    We're keeping a close eye on it and I'll keep you posted with more info as soon as I have it.
  • MikeMike Member Posts: 18
    edited September 2019
    1. thanks Rav for speedy response
    we have made several repetition entries, how do we delete it , so we wouldn't be reporting too many payments?

    thank you


  • PlatinumPlatinum Member Posts: 75
    edited September 2019
    Hello Rav,
    i submitted my first pay run today, and got this same error message.  Once it's sorted, hoping you're able to post clear instructions about the correct followup steps (how do I resubmit, etc.). I want to start off on the right foot with the ATO and STP! 
    Much appreciated,
    David,
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,785 Administrator
    edited September 2019
    Hi folks,
    It looks like the ATO has got the SBR2 service back to normal now.
    The submissions that returned an error will remain as they are in your list, they have not been sent and won't be so just leave them as they are.

    You can create a new submission and send it through and provided that everything is good with the info & the SBR2 service (which from the looks it should be), then it will go through as normal.
  • PlatinumPlatinum Member Posts: 75
    edited September 2019
    Thanks for the info Rav.
    I've followed the suggestion, created and lodged a new submission as you suggested - and got the same 'Declined by ATO' message, that's a pity!  The SBR2 service must be down still/again.
  • PaulPaul Member Posts: 8
    edited September 2019
    I've also just received the same error message so looks like the ATO system still has problems
  • PlatinumPlatinum Member Posts: 75
    edited September 2019
    I've spoken to ATO technical help, maybe it's the luck of who picks up the phone but they couldn't find a trail internally showing an outage on the Reckon SBR. They said it would be helpful if I could provide an ATO error message ID.  Rav, you seem knowledgeable - is there a way I can drill down to see that code instead of the bland 'declined by the ATO' message which Reckon shows me? 
    Meanwhile this approach after a day that "It should be alright some time" is not filling me with confidence...
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,785 Administrator
    edited September 2019
    Hi guys,
    If you tap on the message inside the individual pay run you should receive a full response message from the ATO. Once you've got it, let me know what it is. It could be some other problem with the pay run or processing that needs attention but I can let you know what it is based on the message.
  • LeanneLeanne Member Posts: 1
    edited September 2019
    Hi, I'm experiencing the same, and the first image above is from the Reckon STP app and there is no further option to drill down on the message
  • PlatinumPlatinum Member Posts: 75
    edited September 2019
    Hi Rav, thanks for persevering. My message from Reckon STP on mobile is simply as per this screen shot. The design has no options to clicks anything to open further info from Reckon or the ATO. image
  • FionaFiona Member Posts: 16
    edited September 2019
    I have just received the same message on my desktop 
    image
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,785 Administrator
    edited September 2019
    Hi guys,
    I've just received indication that the SBR2 service is unavailable again. This is again going to affect any submissions that have been sent in the last little while (sorry I can't be more specific) and will result in the same response message as above.

    I'm going to come back to you once I see that the ATO have got it back online.
  • FionaFiona Member Posts: 16
    edited September 2019
    Great .. thanks for keeping us up to date
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,785 Administrator
    edited September 2019
    Hi guys,
    Its back up again and ready to accept new submissions. Go ahead & send a new pay run submission through when you're ready.
  • PlatinumPlatinum Member Posts: 75
    edited September 2019
    Success ! Thanks for posting the info Rav.
  • FionaFiona Member Posts: 16
    edited September 2019
    All good .. have had success.  Thanks for you input.
  • MeriMeri Member Posts: 2
    edited September 2019
    Hi, sent my first pay run yesterday and it was stuck in pending all day and had the same error message today - Error message "Either the ATO is down or Reckon SBR is unavailable. Should I try to resend.
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,785 Administrator
    edited September 2019
    Yes
  • MeriMeri Member Posts: 2
    edited September 2019
    Thanks Rav, SUCCESS yipee
  • Michele KromeMichele Krome Member Posts: 10
    edited September 2019
    So with the STP app, when you do an adjustment to resubmit do you just do a $0 adjustment and lodge that?  There doesn't seem to be an option to re-lodge the original pay run however the employee year to date totals have been updated so that is why I assume a $0 adjustment is required and this will send the correct year to date details?

  • Phil DPhil D Member Posts: 3
    edited September 2019
    I dont see any option to do a resend, only options seem to be I’ll do it later or adjustment. How to do a resend?
  • PlatinumPlatinum Member Posts: 75
    edited September 2019
    Alas ... create a new pay run and type it all in again
  • Phil DPhil D Member Posts: 3
    edited September 2019
    Thanks platinum will do.
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,785 Administrator
    edited September 2019
    No there isn't a way to re-lodge an original pay run. 
    You need to recreate the pay run again in the app & send it through (as a pay run not an adjustment).
  • Sandra ItalianoSandra Italiano Member Posts: 2
    edited September 2019
    Once the resubmit goes through to the ATO, how do I clear the error msg on the app?
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,785 Administrator
    edited September 2019
    Hi Sandra,
    You can't remove any submissions that are in any status other than 'Draft' so the erroneous submissions will stay as they are.
    Just leave them there and continue as normal.
  • Sandra ItalianoSandra Italiano Member Posts: 2
    edited September 2019
    Noted, thank you Rav.
  • nullarbornullarbor Member Posts: 11
    edited October 2019
    So is the intention that the ATO business portal eventually reflects Year to date figures before the first pay run in STP is done? It seems crazy that we have to check with each employee whether  their MyGov record matches what we have in the STP app, and there is no way for the employer to check that the figures at ATO match what is in the app other than by sitting on the phone for hours calling them. I just checked my own MyGov record and it seems to match the year to date plus first pay run in the Reckon STP app, but I'm not going to ask all my employees to do the same.
  • Dianne PoonDianne Poon Member Posts: 35
    edited June 9
    HI, After successfully lodging the STP weekly, I went to upload this weeks payrun to find that my last week was declined due to  and error saying "Either the ATO is down or Reckon SBR is unavailable".  I don't know what "SBR" is.  Can you please provide a solution.
    Can I save the payrun as a new STP and relodge it as a new payrun?? or do I lodge it again as an update although there are no changes to it.

    I have just lodged it as a new STP for that week (31/5) and it is successful.  Fingers crossed it has not doubled up although the previous one I did for 31/5, the same pay run, still shows up as having an error.  So I am guessing this is all okay.
This discussion has been closed.