How to carry out South32/BHP demerger

Steven Vas
Steven Vas Member Posts: 10
Can anybody advise how to carry out a demerge function of a company i.e., BHP into BHP and South32. In Personal Plus 2015 the nearest "Transaction" I can find is "Corporate Securities Spin-Off" but it is not quite right. Any and all help/advice will be greatly appreciated

Comments

• William Phillips
    William Phillips Member Posts: 8
    edited December 2015
    Steve,
    I'm no expert (my disclaimer), but what I did pending further info from the ATO or BHP's website on the cost base, was to use " Add - shares added" with a zero cost base.
    I also tried corporate spin-off but it would not accept a zero cost base.
    Cost base can be adjusted later if it is deemed not to be zero by the ATO.
    Maybe corporate spin off would work then??
    Hope this is right, some one might correct me if I am wrong.
    Regards
    Forgot to add that you may have to use the original purchase dates and numbers of shares purchased for capital  gains tax purposes, but I think that will be spelled out in the ATO ruling
    Regards
  • Steven Vas
    edited May 2015

William,

Many thanks for your prompt response and as you have stated, it works.

As mergers and demergers are fairly common in the Corporate world, we should ask Reckon to incorporate this task in the Transaction section.

Once again, many thanks, regards.

• Reckon FAQs
    Reckon FAQs Reckon Staff Posts: 357 Reckon Staff
    edited March 2017
    Hi Steve,

Welcome to the Reckon Community.

Although it is called a "De-merger", which can be handled by Account Personal's Corporate Spin-off,  from what I understand of S32 demerger, it is being funded by an "in-specie dividend" rather than a classic demerger of "splitting assets" between the two companies which involves adjusting your cost base for the original company.