Reckon Accounts Hosted - Login Issue 23 September 2016 - RESOLVED

124»

Comments

  • Sue MillerSue Miller Member Posts: 41
    edited September 2016
    This is not a minor issue - this is going to take hours if not days to resolve, if they have had to take the server offline.
  • Nathan ElcoateNathan Elcoate Member Posts: 359
    edited September 2016
    Hi Sue, Do you mean from Hosted back to Desktop? You will need to speak to Reckon about that as Hosted is based on Reckon Enterprise which means you will 1) Need to retrieve your file 2) Have Enterprise installed on your local computers. Then just download the backup off Hosted and restore it on your Desktop/
  • Nick 'Snowdog' OwensNick 'Snowdog' Owens Member Posts: 7
    edited September 2016
    Interesting, a colleague is telling me that Reckon stated in a big brief that all the servers were located in Australia.
  • Sue MillerSue Miller Member Posts: 41
    edited September 2016
    Most hosted solutions are not located in Australia. In my real job as IT Manager of a large company - this is the first question I get them to answer when they propose a hosted solution.
  • Jeffrey AranaJeffrey Arana Member Posts: 77
    edited March 2017
    Seems it is back up now. Checking and doing adhoc backups now. Thanks
  • Brenda HauserBrenda Hauser Member Posts: 1
    edited September 2016
    Any updates as to when this will be fixed??


  • Viv AViv A Member Posts: 109
    edited November 2016
    OK... dare I say it... I'm in !!  2.27pm
  • Catie DiverHemsworthCatie DiverHemsworth Member Posts: 10
    edited September 2016
    Yeh I am on

  • Sue MillerSue Miller Member Posts: 41
    edited September 2016
    PS I got an update from a contact at AWS (Amazon Web Services)

    There is no noted outage on our end on AWS servers, I just checked with our engineers.

    It may seem very basic but they might not be running health checks on the servers or probably not having Active-Passive HA configuration. Hard for us to say but the problem seems to have originated from Reckon architecture.

  • Vanessa LanderVanessa Lander Member Posts: 32
    edited September 2016
    Thank you finally can get in, can you let us know what the problem was
  • Nathan ElcoateNathan Elcoate Member Posts: 359
    edited September 2016
    It's fixed.
  • Nathan ElcoateNathan Elcoate Member Posts: 359
    edited September 2016
    The issue is resolved, and the data is hosted in Australia.
  • Catie DiverHemsworthCatie DiverHemsworth Member Posts: 10
    edited September 2016
    don't hold your breath mine just shut down again
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,763 Administrator
    edited February 2017
    *UPDATE - 2:40pm*

    Hi everyone,

    Thank you for your reports of now being able to access Hosted successfully.

    I'm still awaiting the official word on this before confirming this issue is resolved so we're not quite there yet but are making progress.

    Stay tuned.

    Rav
  • Sue MillerSue Miller Member Posts: 41
    edited September 2016
    The data may be hosted in Australia, but the web servers are very definitely not. IP Lookup does not lie.
  • Sue MillerSue Miller Member Posts: 41
    edited September 2016
    The data may be hosted in Australia, but the web servers are very definitely not. IP Lookup does not lie.
  • Catie DiverHemsworthCatie DiverHemsworth Member Posts: 10
    edited September 2016
    Mine just shut down but I was able to log out and log back in
  • Natalie ElliottNatalie Elliott Member Posts: 1
    edited September 2016
    I hope your team  have luck retifying the IT issue soon. I know nothing is ever straightforward in life with software and computers and issues take time to isolate and fix.
    Natalie
  • SueSue Member Posts: 14
    edited September 2016
    Agree, just started working. We are going back to desktop as we can't waste time and just don't need this kind of drama in our lives. Reckon clearly have bugs ... we have just gone back to online after 12 months for this to happen. Big mistake!!
  • cosmiccosmic Reckon Developer Partner Posts: 1,179 ✭✭
    edited December 2016
    Glitches can always happen we just need to learn to be more tolerant .in the same business of hosting servers my self .
  • SusanRSusanR Accredited Partner Posts: 43
    edited November 2016
    Jenny, I really love how you put things into perspective!  Although Reckon have had an issue today with Hosted, the team on the front have managed to be transparent and I am so appreciative of the regular updates.  This has made communicating and explaining to my clients so much easier and smoother.  Huge thanks to Rav and Team Reckon.
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,763 Administrator
    edited February 2017
    *UPDATE - 3:15pm*

    Hi again everyone,

    I'm very happy to advise that I've received official confirmation that this issue is now resolved.

    The team are continuing to monitor to ensure full stability however at this stage everything is looking good.

    I'd just like to thank everyone for their patience and hanging in there during no doubt an extremely frustrating time.

    If you do continue to experience any issues, please log off any active remote sessions via the Control Panel, Logoff (using the Logout option) and retry.
    Alternatively, please get in touch with our Hosted support team to speak to a technician.

    Thanks
    Rav
  • Michael Day-NielsenMichael Day-Nielsen Member Posts: 5
    edited September 2016
    It's good the issue has been resolved, but what was the cause of the outage ?

    There has been some speculation as to the reason, but an official explanation would help to retain some confidence in the Reckon online solution.

    We are now looking at options to move back to a local server setup, these lengthy outages cause problems not only for our accounts people, but also in distribution and shipping and then ultimately delays for our customers.

    I understand that system outages can never be totally avoided, but to have this many users down for approx. 4.5 hrs (10 - 2.30) is not really acceptable.

    As Sue Miller pointed out in an earlier post, redundancy and automatic failover should have had this solved much sooner ..


  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,763 Administrator
    edited December 2016
    Hi Michael, We'll be conducting a debrief on today's events to discuss what went wrong, how we fixed it and what we're going to do in future to avoid it occurring again. At this stage I don't have a great deal of detail but once this concludes I'll be able to share root cause info etc. I'm not a techie but from what I understand so far, and my conversations with the team working on the issue today, the causes that have been speculated on earlier in this thread are incorrect. Info on the above will follow next week. Cheers Rav
  • SueSue Member Posts: 14
    edited September 2016
    AS requested previously please provide clear details on how to return to hosted on the desktop. 
  • Shirley IngleShirley Ingle Accredited Partner Posts: 191
    edited December 2016
    Sue  With respect, suggest you contact Tech support on 1300 799 150 or email [email protected] as your request is of a technical nature not a community topic. Could also phone Customer service 1800 732 566 or email [email protected] Not sure if those numbers are available Saturday. May have to wait until Monday.
This discussion has been closed.