Sole Trader without PAYG payments - how do I record a tax refund?

Dave Dennis
Dave Dennis Member Posts: 29
edited May 2020 in Reckon One
I am a sole trader (part time) with a small business that does not attract PAYG payments at this time. I don't record any payroll or Tax Withholding etc.
So how do I record a tax refund from the ATO? I did a journal entry but for some reason the refund comes up as a liability in my balance sheet. That can't be right!

Please help a simple graphic artist understand this...

Comments

• Qwerty
    Qwerty Member Posts: 261
    edited March 2017
    22/03/17

Hi Dave,

Following on from my last post in your previous thread
    https://community.reckon.com/reckon/topics/using-tax-bas-for-payment-but-no-bank-transaction-is-disp...

The 4 tax accounts in R1 are all liability accounts.

GST Payable (this the the parent account & you don't really need to use it)

GST Collected (tracks tax on sales)

GST Paid (tracks tax on purchases)

ATO - Integrated Client Account (can be used to record ATO payments/refunds to offset the amounts in both GST Collected & GST Paid accounts)

I'll use a simple example to explain...

Income for the period is $1,000.00 + $100.00 tax collected on sales/income.
    Expense for the period is $5000.00 + $500.00 tax paid on purchases/expenses.

The $100.00 tax collected is tracked under the 'GST Collected' liability account as positive amount (increasing the balance).
    The $500.00 tax paid is tracked under the 'GST Paid' liability account as a negative amount (reducing the balance).

The current balance of the 4 tax liability accounts is (negative) -$400.00. So in this scenario the ATO owes me a $400.00 refund.  

The ATO pays me the $400.00. So in my journal I need to increase the balance of the liability by $400.00 & increase the balance of my bank account by $400.00

My bank account has increased by $400.00
    My tax liability has increase by $400.00 (bringing the total from -$400.00 back to $0.00)