attempting to setup paying an employee 2014 first business edition?

Brian_9141627
Brian_9141627 Member Posts: 3
edited June 2020 in Reckon Accounts (Desktop)
hi guys. I have been running a small business since 2014 hence the software year. Until this point I have not paid myself a regular wage but have only taken drawings/retained profits after tax time.
Now things have changed and I need to set up a regular wage with PAYG and super, etc. I cant seem to find any way to do this, is the first business edition too basic for this purpose? And if so how can I upgrade, do I simply purchase newer upgraded software and import company file into this? I'm pretty lost here and the reckon website has been no help so far

Thanks

Comments

• Linda ABC
    Linda ABC Accredited Partner Posts: 1,131 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited June 2020
    Hi Brian - if you are not able to turn on Payroll features using the Edit menu - then Preferences - then Employees & Payroll - then yes, your version will need to be upgraded to a minimum of Reckon Accounts Plus to have the payroll functionality....However!!!!  are you a sole trader or in a partnership?  if so - then you cannot be an employee of your business - you will just take Drawings (which is a debit to an Equity account in your Balance Sheet) and payments to your super fund will be claimed as a deduction in your personal tax return...  You have mentioned that you have done this after tax time - you can also do this regularly if you wish... but if your business is run through a company structure - then yes, you can be an employee and have the usual PAYG withheld and SGC super paid...  hopefully this info helps you?  cheers Linda
  • Annette_8052353
    Annette_8052353 Member Posts: 21
    edited June 2017