Too Much Information recorded on customer statements

JulieJulie Member Posts: 19
There is Too Much Information recorded on customer statements. We only need an invoice date column, invoice number column and an amount  (debit/credit) column. Currently it has Date, Description (which records Job No., Inv No., Orig amount and the estimate number. Way too information and makes for a very messy statement. Can this please be updated?

Comments

  • brianbrian Member Posts: 51
    edited January 5
    I don't think it can be changed in any template or preference edit. I have a problem in that on my statements, it records every transaction by job code alpha reference instead of date order - which seems ridiculous to me, but nothing can be done about it. I think the only way is for Reckon to re-write the commands to suit, which I doubt they are interested in doing.
  • JulieJulie Member Posts: 19
    edited October 2018
    Hi Brian, no it cannot be changed. Hopefully they see my suggestion and make some improvements for the next upgrade. 
  • brianbrian Member Posts: 51
    edited October 2018
    Don't hold your breath Julie. Reckon are not good at listening or looking at issues and totally disinterested in product improvement
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,785 Administrator
    edited October 2018
    Brian, we have a whole platform set up to "listen" to product ideas, feature requests and look for user driven/voted feedback to best determine what is important to users. You'll find it here - https://ideas.reckon.com/

    We're working to a pretty old code base with the Reckon Accounts desktop range so while there are constraints to what can and can't be introduced to the platform, we're always open to feedback.

    Cheers
  • brianbrian Member Posts: 51
    edited October 2018
    Without being too cynical I have to say that is just BS. I paid in 2018 dollars for a programme that should work in 2018,  If the package is too old, don;t try to sell it. It doesn't do simple tasks and Reckon are not interested in feedback or improvement.
    I can't apologise for contradicting you because it is frustrating that this issue and many others dating back years eg Outlook email, failure to execute preference edits (standard markup that won't apply) are still issues years later.
    I don't have enough business life ahead of me to change accounting packages and learn a new one so I just put up with Reckon not doing what they should.
  • Linda ABCLinda ABC Member Posts: 1,171 ✭✭
    edited June 30
    One suggestion Julie - if you print your statements for a date range then you wont get the Orig Amt part printing on the statement?  You could then use another field (eg Project/Job) to record your Job No on the invoice, (rather than use the Memo field at the bottom, which will print out on the statement)...may help a little to unclutter?
  • Robert SmeallieRobert Smeallie Member Posts: 10
    edited October 2018
    HI Julie,

    I opened my Reckon Accounts Desktop version then clicked on Customer on the Top Menu Bar, then in the drop-down list selected Create Statement. Then in the Create Statement window there is a Customise  button next to Template on the right hand side. This opens a Basic Customisation Window and there is a Manage Templates button you can click to open Manage Templates.

    Firstly click on the Copy Button underneath the Select Template and Rename the Copy of Template to whatever your company is called then when you return to the Basic Customisation dialog you will see a Additional Customisation and a Layout Designer buttons which open a design page in which you can create a custom Statement with the information you wish to include, Once again we are seeing the close relationship between Microsoft and Reckon which gives the same Visual Basic Tools to create your new Statement. The rest is up to you.

    Robert Smeallie
  • JulieJulie Member Posts: 19
    edited October 2018
    Hi Robert, I am familiar with editing templates. The statement cannot be edited how I want it. You are not able to remove the Job Number or the Quote number and Org Amount it links to the invoices. Be good though if it could! I have registered my suggestion to Reckon.
Sign In or Register to comment.