JobKeeper with Reckon Accounts Hosted

RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,332 Community Manager
edited April 6 in Accounts Hosted
JOBKEEPER PAYMENTS WITH RECKON ACCOUNTS HOSTED

Hi everyone,

We've put together a range of articles on our Help site that covers everything you need to know about JobKeeper with Reckon Accounts Hosted.

I'd highly recommend checking it out including the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) for info on how/when to use tiers.


Tagged:

Comments

  • Amanda KAmanda K Member Posts: 9

    How do i report if an employee is a Tier 1 or Tier 2 JobKeeper employee - This is not clarified in your FAQ or under Reckon Accounts Hosted help Page as far as I can see.

    🙃We have been receiving JobKeep 1 since FN 1 and now qualify for JobKeeper 2.1. How do I now notify the ATO which Tier our employees are nominated for - all will be Tier 1 and all are paid more than JobKeeper. We use Reckon Hosted and pay weekly.

  • Kris_WilliamsKris_Williams Member Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭

    Add rate as allowance and include on each person’s pay for fortnight ending 12/10 , this is like the original FN start code that kickstarts the process. There are instructions on this forum

  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,332 Community Manager
    edited October 2020

    Hi Amanda,

    How do i report if an employee is a Tier 1 or Tier 2 JobKeeper employee - This is not clarified in your FAQ or under Reckon Accounts Hosted help Page as far as I can see.

    The tier an employee belongs in is determined by how many hours they worked in the month before becoming eligible for JobKeeper. It is an employer's responsibility to determine the JobKeeper tier and for more information on how to determine an employee's tier check out the ATO's JobKeeper Extension page here.


    I'd recommend checking out this quick how-to video on JobKeeper 2.0 with Reckon Accounts/Hosted as well as it should help with getting setup for JK 2.0 -


  • KevinKevin Member Posts: 8
    edited October 2020

    @Rav ,

    In your video about the Tier 1 and 2, the setup of the new payroll item says to select None in the Tax tracking type.

    I have had to add the JK-TIER1 for my 9 October payrun and then resubmit the updated event through STP. However, when I look at the detail, it does not appear in the individual employee's records as Tier 1 or 2.

    When setting up the JOBKEEPER-START/FINISH-FN the tax tracking type is "Allowances - other." With this option selected it appears in the STP records in the Reckon STP portal.

    Just wondering if by selecting None, if this actually gives the ATO any advice or not through STP?

  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,332 Community Manager

    Hi @Kevin, thanks for raising this. To confirm, the JK-TIER1 and JK-TIER2 item need to be created with the 'Allowances - Other' tax tracking type as opposed to 'None'.

    The video linked above is being updated as we speak and I'll edit the post above with the new edition as soon as its done.

  • Kris_WilliamsKris_Williams Member Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭

    Thanks for that Kevin I had to resubmit in Hosted but Reckon One was ok

  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,332 Community Manager

    Just a quick note to say the video above has been updated.

  • 13120291312029 Member Posts: 17

    Hi Rav,

    just seen the updated video. can you clarify, if I need to re run each pay run again to updated TIER1 status, or just updating TIER1 under payroll item edit is good enough.

    Thanks

    Lilani

  • Kris_WilliamsKris_Williams Member Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭

    I changed the Tier 1 and tier 2 in the pay items setup and relodged (STP) but only the pay in which I had reported these allowances. They only need to go into the first fortnight of the new Jobkeeper extension

  • Acctd4Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2020

    @1312029 The purpose of these "Tier" Allowances is purely to "notify" the ATO.  Under the original video, the link to do this was missing as it was instructed setting to "None" in the Tax Type window, instead of "Allowances - Other".

    Once you have corrected the configuration of this "JK-TIER1" Payroll Item, you don't need to redo the Pay Run BUT you do need to resubmit an "Update Event" for the applicable Pays via STP as the ATO won't have received this notifier previously.

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015) *

    ICB-Certified Bookkeeper * Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    0422 886 003

    [email protected]

    https://www.accounted4bs.com/

  • 13120291312029 Member Posts: 17

    Hi Shaz & Kris,

    Thank you all. It is all good and now I can view the JK-TIER1 under each employee in STP.

    In trying to update event, I accidently updated one particular pay run twice. Now it is submitted stage. Can you pls advice as how I could rectify it.

    Also from FN-14, all my employees qualifies for JK-TIER1, and now from 27th Sep 2020, all pay runs are updated in STP, and Sep 20 quarter BAS is submitted to ATO as well as the drop in sales already reported in ATO portal.

    When do you think, ATO will refund the JK-TIER1, to the employer?

    Thank you for your help and clarification.

    Lilani

  • Kris_WilliamsKris_Williams Member Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭

    I believe the process will be the same as Jobkeeper 1, we will have to login to BAS portal and finalise, but at this stage yet to test the procedure. I would think the money will be paid soon after that. This is only my opinion

  • Kris_WilliamsKris_Williams Member Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭

    I redid the allowance JKTier 1 and allocated it as Other as advised, and resubmitted the STP file - and the Tier 1 and 2 is reflected on the individual’s submission. But when I login to the business portal their names are all allocated to the relevant Tier but nothing in the Jobkeeper column and no amount listed for payment except for the business participant.

  • Daniel JamesDaniel James Member Posts: 5

    I have a similar issue to Kris. I have updated the JK-TIER1 payroll item as directed above and run an update event STP for FN14 pay run. I can see the JK-TIER1 flag clearly in the updated STP event in Reckon GovConnect and I have received a ATO Receipt Number for the event. But when I log into the ATO Business Portal I have no tier allocation for any employee and I have no way of changing the employees allocation. The Business Portal has a warning that I have missing tier allocations and suggests that I send through an updated STP file! I can declare my business participant and see a JK payment amount for them for October, but no JK payments for any employees.

    Any suggestions other than calling the ATO and waiting all day for them to answer!

  • Kris_WilliamsKris_Williams Member Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭

    Exactly the same problem as mine

  • Daniel JamesDaniel James Member Posts: 5
    edited November 2020

    Hi all. I just got off the phone with the ATO and fortunately I didn't have to wait long at all.

    The ATO has advised me that in some cases it can take up to 72 hours for an STP update to be recorded in their system and that I should be able to process the JobKeeper declaration for my employees after this time.

    I'll keep you all posted! ☺️

  • Kris_WilliamsKris_Williams Member Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭

    I looked back on my resubmission on 11/10 and the Tiers were showing, but as they were not on business portal I went back into each pay on that date, deleted and reentered the allowances and resubmitted the STP. Still nothing so I am giving it the 72 hours before I ring ATO.

    I had no such issues with Reckon One payroll

  • 13120291312029 Member Posts: 17

    Hi Kris & James,


    I have the same issue, still ATO has not paid my JK-TIER1, for October20, do you'll have any updates on this.


    Regards

    Lilani

  • Kris_WilliamsKris_Williams Member Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭

    I had to ring the ATO as the correct information was not showing on the business portal for 2 different entities. They fixed it up and declared the income for me. If you haven’t received the correct amount you will have no alternative but to ring them. 132866

    They were very helpful

  • GlenysGlenys Member Posts: 1

    Hi

    How do I get the JK-TIER1 off the STP upload. It is not showing on the payslip but when I look at the upload before submitting it is still there?

  • Kris_WilliamsKris_Williams Member Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭

    It will stay there because it was used once - nothing to worry about

Sign In or Register to comment.