share purchase cost base error

Bob_8781747
Bob_8781747 Member Posts: 3
Hi I am currently using Reckon Personal Plus 2016. I have been using this and earlier versions for over ten years so am not a novice. Recently I entered a new share purchase as per normal however after I entered the data and returned to the Investment -- Holdings -- Overview page I see an incorrect cost base recorded. I have reviewed the data entered in Transactions and it is correct. Also when I click on the Security and go to Detail View I see the correct transaction information. However when I return to the summary page which lists all the equities, I see that this holding has the incorrect cost base listed. I have reviewed the share price history to ensure that no anomalous prices have been recorded but the data is correct. I have deleted the purchase and re-entered and the problem recurs. I have also re-entered with new data (! share for 1 dollar) and again the cost base is way out. I would very much appreciate any assistance. Thanks, Bob

Comments

• Lesley Xerri
    Lesley Xerri Member Posts: 20
    edited July 2017
    Hi Bob, 
    The cost base correctly includes commissions in its' calculation.  Could you do a manual calculation - including commissions and see if you have a matching figure? If so, all is good!
  • John Campbell
    John Campbell Member Posts: 193 ✭✭
    edited February 2017

Bob,

Without disclosing personal information, would it be possible to provide more details of the error, so we can get a better understanding of the magnitude of the incorrect report ?

Eg date of transaction, number of shares, purchase price etc, then latest share price and date. Then provide the summary report values.

John

• Bob_8781747
    edited November 2016