Can I renew to POS Lite rather than continue with POS Professional?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago
Photo of Shannon Scott

Shannon Scott

  • 100 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Andrew

Andrew

  • 22,222 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hi Shannon,

Yes you can, BUT and there is a big BUT. It will mean you will have to uninstall the old software and then reinstall with the Lite version, not really an issue, as you do this each year with the 'upgrades' anyhow.

BUT, you will need to start the POS database again from scratch. As the old POS Pro database won't work on Lite, it will complain its incompatible. 

Reckon only offers a Lite to Pro upgrade path. There is no Pro to Lite downgrade path.

We went through this process a few years ago, as the Pro licenses are overpriced for our needs and we didn't use the features 'offered' in them (or could get away without them).

Being that Lite is nearly half the price, it was a big saving for my client with a few terminals to downgrade. Well worth the effort in setting up the POS database again from scratch. they are saving $800/yr. So any extra 'costs' to have the downgrade performed had been saved many times over since then.

Some tips.

- Your Reckon Accounts data will come back through ok. So items, customers, balances etc will all come back in to the new POS DB no issues.

What won't be carried over, is all the POS settings.
- Screenshot all the POS CLIENT settings screens
- Save all keyboard maps and screen layouts
- In the POS Administrator, Screenshot all the settings screens as well.

The way I did it was

- Screenshot all the client settings, save keyboard layouts etc, record everything I could
- EOD, close terminal (repeat for each one)
- Post EOD
- Screenshot all the POS Admin settings, record everything I could.
- Take a backup of RA/POS DB
- Uninstall POS clients/Admin
- Move old POS DB to somewhere else
- Install POS admin, this will prompt you to create a new POS DB etc
- Install clients
- Reconfigured everything as per the screenshots you took.
- Enjoy the savings
(Edited)
Photo of Shannon Scott

Shannon Scott

  • 100 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Fantastic, thanks very much Andrew, like you, not really getting the value out of Professional. You sage words fill me with a bit more confidence about the "downgrade". Cheers
Photo of Andrew

Andrew

  • 22,222 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
No worries, happy to help!


The process is pretty easy if you go in prepared and have all the 'old' settings/keyboards/touchscreens recorded. Then you just click through each POS settings screen in Admin/Client and adjust them to what you had beforehand. Load the keyboard/screen maps in and basically done.

Most users get turned off by the starting POS DB again from scratch. So if you feel comfortable with this, then give it a shot. It is well worth the saving in the long run. It does take time, and is a little painful to reenter all your company name/ABN details etc again. But the savings are big for a small once off event.

Like all good upgrades, allow enough time to do it, take backups and be prepared with the old settings.
(Edited)
Photo of Andrew

Andrew

  • 22,222 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Oh missed one thing that did cause me some trouble. Note the last transaction number, and set that as your starting transaction number in the new 'lite' POS client. If you have more than one pos terminal, this transaction number will be different on each terminal. So note each one.

Otherwise you may see errors about number already been used when posting the EOD.

The transaction number is shown on POS screen. Write it down. I just rounded up. So if it was 758943, I started the lite versions at 759000.