Catching up on old reconciling whats the easiest way??

Options
Jess_8078757
Jess_8078757 Member Posts: 3
edited February 2017 in Accounts Hosted
Hi there
i have just taken on managing a friend's bookwork on Reckon accounts.
Im just learning this program so would love any help!
1- he is up to date with tax returns etc so thats fine. but hasnt reconciled on the program since 2011!!! he has entered in all transactions so he's up too date with that.
2 - do i have to back date reconciling to 2011 or can i just start from end of 2015 for example?
3 - what is the deal with the ticks next to transactions? he told me to just go along and tick all the boxes but from what im reading if you reconcile they will automatically tick is that right?? or do i have to manually tick all boxes from like 2014??

any help would be great
thanks!!

Comments

• John G
    John G Reckon Staff Posts: 1,570 Reckon Staff
    edited February 2017
    Options
    Hi Jess,

Welcome to the Reckon Community.

The reconciliation process is to ensure your company file's bank ledger entries corresponds with the bank's record of transactions. 

Firstly, make a fresh backup of your company file and get details of the last reconciliation from Reports > Banking > Previous Reconciliation (you may already have a printed copy of this report)

Start the Reconciliation in Reckon Accounts and confirm that the Beginning Balance corresponds with the Bank Statement Balance on the reconciliation date of the last Reconciliation in 2011. 

Then enter the Statement Date and Bank ending balance and proceed with your reconciliation.  Tick off all transactions - Cheques and Payments; and, Deposits and Other Credits - to your chosen Statement Date (either to the last available statement date, or to some date in the past like 31/12/15 you suggested).  It'll be easier to click on Mark All and then untick the transactions after your chosen date.