Discrepancies on reports

Nadine
Nadine Member Posts: 52
edited July 2020 in Reckon Accounts (Desktop)
Should the net income figure on the p&l be different to the net sales figure on the tax liability reports? I am a bookkeeper so I fully understand these reports and would say "no" to this question myself but I am new to Reckon so possibly I am interpreting the reports wrong. But in summary, if I add up all the net sales figures reported on our BAS from the tax liability summary reports these do not equal our net income figure on the P&L for the year, and we charge GST on all of our sales.

Comments

• John Graetz
    John Graetz Member Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭
    edited July 2020
    Hi Nadine.  Another possibility.  Are both sets of reports being run in the same format e.g. both are run on a cash basis or both are run on an accrual basis?  John L G
  • Nadine
    edited July 2017
    Ok, I didnt realise this was an option with P&L reports (to run as gross figures), as it isnt with other software programs I am used to. I will give this a try and see if it makes any difference. Thank you for your advice.
  • Nadine
    edited November 2016
    Hi John
    Yes I have checked that they are both set as accrual reports. Thanks for your response.
  • Nadine
    edited July 2017
    Ok, good to know. Thanks
  • DebonAir
    DebonAir Member Posts: 392
    edited May 2017
    If you find that these figures have not balanced, you might like to run a tax detail report and check that all of the tax codes have been correctly used in sales and expenses. 
  • Nadine
    edited July 2017
    Hi DebonAir
    Thank you for your response. I have just done this, and I notice that any general journal entries where the tax code has been left out have ended up under "net sales" without a GST entry for some reason, so this is definitely clouding the accuracy of the reports.