File Sharing Error Deleted Company File

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 3 weeks ago
I was trying to share my company files in Reckon Hosted with another of our company logins and had some trouble - it kept saying it failed.  While I successfully shared two of the companies, the third one has now “disappeared”.  I am now told by support that the file has been permanently deleted from my Q drive.  It appears this was simply by clicking the wrong directional arrow in file share.  There was no warning the file would be deleted and it was only when I went to go back into the file and then contacted support that I discovered this was the case.  

I find it inexplicable and unacceptable that an entire company file can be so easily deleted in error with no warnings whatsoever.  Whenever you want to delete something normally, you have to type DELETE or answer YES. So if you or your staff have access via Control Panel to Share Company Files and manage access, be warned!  

I think my 14 year relationship with Reckon is about to come to an end. 
Photo of Rachael

Rachael

  • 134 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • disappointed

Posted 3 weeks ago

  • 1
Photo of John Graetz

John Graetz

  • 18,994 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
Rachael.  Have you been doing daily backups?  If so, you should be able to go back to your most recent backup and restore the company file.  Apart from that, I support your comments about the unacceptable ease in which a company file can be deleted.
John L G
Photo of Kevin Russell

Kevin Russell, Accredited Partner

  • 40,760 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
John that should not be necessary.
Photo of Linda Putland

Linda Putland, Accredited Partner

  • 6,632 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Rachael - this might be a long shot - but I just looked at the KB article on deleting Hosted files (KB5645) - it has this note at the bottom:

If you have shared the file, make sure you go into the shared folder and delete the file from within.

Please note: Just deleting the shared folder will not delete the file. It will merely delete the shared folder access from your login. The shared folder and the file within will remain visible to all other users who have access to the shared folder.

I wonder, have you tried to login with another user and see if the file is possibly still there?

Just a thought, the only reason I went looking was that I had thought from past experience that it was quite difficult to delete a Hosted shared file and I remember having to have Tech Support do it for me in the past? 

Good luck.. Regards Linda