Help Please! I've lost all of my reconcilliations for 2 years.

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 20 hours ago
I'm using Reckon Accounts Hosted Online helping my neighbour with his book work. I've been reconciling frequently but the last time I checked (and after restarting on multiple occasions) the last reconciliation date shows as 31/12/2016. I've been reconciling every quarter at least and also my reconciliations always end on 2nd of the month due to the statement cycle so even the last reconciliation date is confusing.

Have I undone them somehow or is there a fix to this? There is a lot of work to go back 2 years and redo everything, I'm really hooping someone knows a fix?

I've tried 'verify data' under the file menu. I'm not an expert by any means at this so any help is appreciated.

Is this something to do with reckon 2017 ending? I haven't done any transition to 2018 (as he only sporadically asks me for help). Could someone else have undone them like an accountant or possibly my neighbour (who's account I use) by mistake?
Photo of Kristy Gunn

Kristy Gunn

  • 152 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 days ago

  • 1
Photo of Linda Putland

Linda Putland, Accredited Partner

  • 6,632 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Kristy - my first thought is that you are using the wrong file...so the first thing to check is are there multiple versions of that company file on hosted... are you logging in each time with the same login details?  Has the file been shared with another Hosted user (in which case it would be moved to a shared location)... if you go to File - Open Previous Company - do you see multiple file locations?  do you remember if you have backed up at any time recently?  can you see files in your B drive on Hosted if you use the toolbox download button to look around?
Photo of Linda Putland

Linda Putland, Accredited Partner

  • 6,632 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Auto backups can be setup, but if this hasnt been done - then it wouldnt have happened - but whoever opened the file first with 2018 - would have done a backup when it upgraded... the default location for that backup is the B drive - if you are all using the same Hosted login - then you would all be looking at the same B drive - so that would be the first place I would look for a backup file?  Choose Open or Restore a company file from the File menu - navigate to B drive and then look at what files you can see there - and their dates... if you find a recent one - restore it to either a different location or with a different name (or both) so you dont overwrite the existing file - then go looking in that restored file for the Reconciliation reports.
Photo of Kristy Gunn

Kristy Gunn

  • 152 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
The earliest back up also has the last reconciliation date as 2 years ago. The backup was dated in February this year. I guess that means I'm out of options and need to redo the recs?
Photo of Linda Putland

Linda Putland, Accredited Partner

  • 6,632 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Hi Kristy - all of that makes no sense to me - as there should be a backup somewhere from when the 2018 upgrade was done - which would have been June or July?  are you sure everyone who is accessing the file is using the same login ID?  is there possibly a 2nd login ID that someone else could be using - that would be storing a later backup?  Maybe a call to Tech support could help you locate the most recent backup?
Photo of Kristy Gunn

Kristy Gunn

  • 152 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
There are no more log ins, I don't know how the upgrade was done, one time I logged in and it was 2017 and the next time I logged in it was 2018?
Photo of Rav

Rav, Community Manager

  • 64,408 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi Kristy,
What you might be referring to is you reached the end date of Reckon Accounts Hosted 2017 and then had to upgrade to 2018.
Regardless however, during the upgrade it is a mandatory step in the process to backup your file. I think it might be best to give us a buzz on 1300 799 150 so a technician can take a closer look into this with you.
Photo of Shane Musarra

Shane Musarra

  • 104 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
The new update to Reckon One wiped out all my reconciliations as well :( Years of work just lost
Photo of Kristy Gunn

Kristy Gunn

  • 152 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Have you had any success getting the lost work back?