How can I change where my company file is saved?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 3 years ago

Currently it is being saved in Microsoft One Drive which is a pain as it has to upload every time you close the software. I want to save it on my PC again or an external hard drive but cant seem to find where this can be changed?

Reckon Accounts Plus 2017.

Photo of Tim Cross

Tim Cross

  • 444 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Posted 3 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Linda Benfield

Linda Benfield, Accredited Partner

  • 484 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Hi Tim,

You can do a backup to your local drive and then restore the file also to your local drive.

Then continue working in the file that is now on your local drive.

Hope that helps..

Linda

Photo of Tim Cross

Tim Cross

  • 444 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Does that then change the path to the company file going forwards and if so I guess I can safely delete the company file showing in my one drive folder?


Photo of DebonAir

DebonAir

  • 5,972 Points 5k badge 2x thumb
Yes, when you set the path to the new file from the backup, it will continue to use that path until you relocate it again.
Don't delete the online one until you are sure it is all working fine. Just to be sure.
Photo of Tim Cross

Tim Cross

  • 444 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Many thanks to all. Just followed your advice and have now reset the location to save to C Drive again. Now I guess I better schedule a back up to external drive rather than one drive! Will delete one drive file after I am sure all is good. Cheers.
Photo of Kevin Russell

Kevin Russell, Accredited Partner

  • 53,026 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Why dont you save it in the default directory?
Photo of Linda Benfield

Linda Benfield, Accredited Partner

  • 484 Points 250 badge 2x thumb

Hi Tim,

Yes, the path to the new location will be the 1st option when re-opening the file. The path to the old file will be the 2nd option.

I personally am not a fan of deleting files. I usually rename the file with word "Old" at the beginning and the Financial Year at the end..

But it is honestly up to you. Maybe just leave for a couple of weeks and some regular backups and then delete the old file.

Linda

Photo of Tim Cross

Tim Cross

  • 444 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
What is the default directory Kevin and what difference does it make? My main aim was to get it out of one drive which seemed a good idea at the time i.e Cloud storage. However, the slow upload/sync time was driving me made and somehow created two company file back ups at some point.(Only affected one days entry as I am now discovering through payments received and bank reconciliation.)