I wrongly allocated payment to an invoice. How do I correct it or delete it?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
I accidently allocated a full payment to an invoice instead of a part payment.  How do I correct that or delete that?
Photo of Naomi

Naomi

  • 102 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
  • confused & frustrated

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Jon Martingale

Jon Martingale, Employee

  • 700 Points 500 badge 2x thumb
Hi Naomi

To resolve this try the following steps:

  1. Go to the invoice accidentally marked as fully paid.
  2. Scroll to bottom of screen to the 'Already paid' amount. The amount should be displayed as green text.
  3. Click the amount, choose to unlink, and confirm this action.
  4. You can then process the part payment by selecting 'Receive payment'.
  5. Note: at this stage do not check 'Apply available transactions'.
  6. Instead, at the bottom of the screen complete details of the payment date, the bank account paid to, the part payment amount and any reference. The chosen invoice is now part paid.
  7. You will still need to delete the original payment made to the invoice if this was not actually made. To do this go to Money in > Receive money > open the payment added in error > delete.
The above is more straightforward in practice than it reads here. And should resolve your issue.

Let me know how you get on.

Jon
Reckon UK. 
Photo of Naomi

Naomi

  • 102 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Thank you soooo much!