Preparing Hosted for Upgrade to 2015 R1

  • 1
  • Article
  • Updated 4 years ago
This Video runs through key steps which can be done to optimise your Reckon Accounts Hosted experience. By cleaning up your Company File and backups you're ensuring you are more than ready for the Reckon Accounts Hosted 2015 R1 which is being released soon.



*NOTE* - This process does not use the Clean up company data" feature.

Script from the Video:

With the release of Reckon Accounts Hosted 2015 edition there’s no better time to think about improving your efficiency in managing your company file.

How many backups do you have stored on Hosted?
If you are conscientious about protecting your company information – and who isn’t – then you probably have quite a number stored.  The older ones may be of little use to you now. Their presence creates a risk that when you do need to restore a backup, you restore an older backup and not your latest backup, and possibly that your users work on different versions of your company file.

Also, these files do clutter up the Hosted servers that can affect the efficiency in running Hosted sessions for everyone.

A good practice is to store backups on Hosted for immediate needs only. 

You will not need more than one or two backups for this. For longer-term storage needs you should transfer either a backup or a Portable Company File to your local PC.

So here are a few steps you can take right now to ensure a fresh start for the 2015 Edition.

First, check your company file for errors.

Hopefully you’ll get the message No Errors Found, but if an error is found, continue with a Rebuild. Then Verify again to make sure there are no errors.

If there are errors then make some time to explore the KBs and the Community for the errors found, and if needed, call Technical Support for more help.

If you did fix an error you should create a new backup. If you have more than one company file do this process for each.

Now, download your backup to your local PC. Click the download icon > Navigate to the B drive >  Double click on the Backup File to download to your PC.
You can then move it to a convenient location.


Finally we can now clean up our backups in  B drive. 
To view them let’s go - File > Open or Restore a company file > Open a company file > Change file directory to B drive > Change Files of Type to All Files. You will now have a list of all files in this directory

Check the date modified for each of your backups. We’ll decide to keep the last Backup so we can delete all earlier ones.

Highlight the first backup to delete, and press the Delete key on your keyboard. Say Yes to the message And see your file disappear.

Now do the same for all older backups you want to delete.

That’s it.  You’ve cleaned up your company file, have new backups on Hosted and locally, reduced your space usage on Hosted, and helped all users have a better experience of Hosted.
Photo of Reckon FAQs

Reckon FAQs, Employee

  • 10,138 Points 10k badge 2x thumb

Posted 5 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Reckon FAQs

Reckon FAQs, Employee

  • 10,138 Points 10k badge 2x thumb
It's Important to know who is the Admin of the Data file.

Upgrading will require that the Admin password if one is set, to be known.

Please ensure prior to attempting any upgrades you are certain of the Datafile Password.

If you cannot confirm the Admin login Credentials,  you can try to use the generic combination; Username: Admin and Password: Left Blank. If this fails and a individualised password has been set by the data file Admin, then you can request a password removal service or try to find the password

Please ensure you have your Admin details saved in a safe and convenient location in case it is required in the future.

Regards,
Mirko
(Edited)

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.