Quickbooks cannot open file as it exists as a read only file

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 12 months ago
  • In Progress

Running QuickBooks Pro v7.4 for Windows

Getting the following error message when trying to open Company Files



Have opened the file location and checked that the file is NOT set to Read Only


Photo of Norman

Norman

  • 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb

Posted 12 months ago

  • 1
Norman

I'd be more curious about why the size of the file you are trying to open,  is 0 (zero) bytes long.   Are you sure the file exists, has a decent size, and hasn't been tampered with?

Gary
Photo of Norman

Norman

  • 80 Points 75 badge 2x thumb
Yeah I know, I cannot seem to locate the actual QuickBooks file from Explorer - yet it was last accessed/worked on 06/12, and then this issue came up days later.
Norman

Be careful to write down where the file is,  and where you are putting it, before doing anything I suggest here.  It is important that you know where your LIVE file is,  what data is in it,  and how you are then backing it up to other safe places.   So if you are not really comfortable with playing with files in folders from a Windows point of view,  then just don't try this.

What I was going to suggest, as a TEST,  is to use Windows, to COPY the Farmview Pty Ltd.QBW  live company data file over to a really unique place - somewhere out in the open.  

-  Create a  new folder called:  C:\testingRECKON   (is in the top area of drive C:)
-  COPY and PASTE  (**I stress:  do not drag/drop or move!!!).   But copy,  then paste  the file you've seen in your screenshot, over to, and as a separate new 'copy'  to the testRECKON folder.
- Then in The RECKON PROGRAM,  start the program, and do a FILE --> OPEN existing company,  from this testRECKON folder area.

Try putting a test transaction,  or making a simple change like putting a fullstop on the end of a street address of a customer or something minor like that.  Close the session, and start a fresh session, again using the testRECKON folder version of the file.

I'm keen to see if something has adjusted/corrupted/changed the privilege/permissions access to the  PROGRAM area that you are storing your company DATA in.


I have a habit of always putting company DATA files in a totally separate area.  I don't like mixing up the three aspects of a computer:  SYSTEM, PROGRAMS, DATA.        Systems is Windows stuff,  PROGRAMS are things like word processing and accounting,  and DATA is your stuff.   Your stuff is important - it needs to be protected.  The other two things you can always buy, build,, get again.  But it is nice to have your DATA  (company files, documents, spreadsheets, photos etc - totally isolated and independent).  WHY?  For the very reason I'm asking you to try this little test.  Have them in personally controlled isolated folders.


**NOW IMPORTANT:**

If you do try the test,  be sure you remember that it was only a test.   The real file that you were using for live production,  and all your procedures for backup/recovery and so forth,  are back over in that original place you started with in your screenshot.  So if you find what is causing the problem,  and want to remedy the original LOCATION of the files, then you need to get the RECKON program to do a FILE -->  OPEN company file,    from the ORIGINAL place.    

IN your screen shot,  there is a small black triangle to the right of the location:   Quickbooks PRO.
If you go back to re-visit that screen shot, and click the black triangle,  you will discover exactly where the ORIGINAL file is located.   Another way,  is to do a CTL + 1  when running Reckon, and the system info screen will tell you the answer.  It's likely to be something like:
c:\program files\Quickkbooks Pro \ farmview Pty Ltd



Gary
0408994799 anytime.
(Edited)
Photo of Robyn Kelly

Robyn Kelly, Accredited Partner

  • 3,898 Points 3k badge 2x thumb

Hi Norman

I have a feeling this has happened to me in the past if I've tried to open in the wrong version of the program - could this be your case?

Regards, Robyn

Good thought Robyn.....  Yes,  you can get that sort of a message in the old days,  even when using a sub-release (like a tax-pack update) one revision out.  Like v7.4 versus 7.4A  or whatever.  (Akin to today's  R1  versus R2 for a given year/version)

Gary
(Edited)