scanner wont work on pos

• Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
hi i have reckon 2009/10 - all works fine, except recently my datalogic touch 65 scanner broke, so i replaced it with one of the exact specs. However when i use it to scan on POS it just comes up as error selected, key has no function. Oddly it will scan when i go to the product number tab? In options I have selected the correct scanner. How can i resolve this issue please?
Photo of benjaminlobb

benjaminlobb

• 90 Points 75 badge 2x thumb

Posted 5 years ago

Photo of Andrew

Andrew

• 22,222 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
You need to program the scanner to send a ~ before the barcode and a enter afterwards . check the scanner manual and FAQ on reckon
Photo of Rik Dillon

Rik Dillon

• 280 Points 250 badge 2x thumb
Open Notepad or Word or similar and then scan the item.  This will tell if the scanner is adding the tilde (~).  I'm no expert (I don't know if many are with POS) but I've sorted a few things out by the suck-it-and-see method.
Photo of Andrew

Andrew

There are experts around, they just don't give their advice away for free ;)
Photo of Rik Dillon

Rik Dillon

I'm sure there are, but they seem hard to find.  The trouble is that you pay for someone who hangs up their shingle but still get someone who just tries different options until it works.  I don't know what your background is but those who subscribe to such forums as these are extremely grateful for your advice. 
Photo of Kevin Russell

Kevin Russell, Accredited Partner

• 53,108 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Rik mate, I do this stuff for a living. I just installed another Reckon Pos system last Friday. You want monkeys and you get peanuts. Ring me 0407744914
(Edited)
Photo of Andrew

Andrew

Rik I'm not sure about being grateful, most never come back with a thank you that worked or problem solved. They just stop replying. So guessing they got it sorted. :(