The file rmdview cannot be unzipped because it reports a virus

Thea Stainsby
Thea Stainsby Member Posts: 5
I am trying to install Reckon Accounts Personal 2019. I am using Avira for virus protection.
During the unzip process I am getting a message that the file rmdview.exe contains a pattern of HUER/AGEN.1028801 and is blocked.
I cannot find a way to circumvent this error condition. I have tried combinations of 
- downloading a fresh version of the package
- stopping Avira
- disconnecting the internet
- using WinZip to manually unzip the package
I have uninstalled Reckon Personal 2018.
I have been using Reckon for nearly 30 years and never experienced this problem before.
thank you
Thea Stainsby

Comments

• Andrew Christie
    Andrew Christie Member Posts: 149
    edited September 2019
    Hi Thea,

Google reports a number of instances where Avira reports similar errors on other program instals.

The fix was to put the reported file/s as an exception in your anti-virus program.

Try it and see how you go

regards
    Andrew
  • Thea Stainsby
    edited September 2019
    Hello Andrew,
    Thank you for your response.
    I have now uninstalled Avira (before seeing your response). The rmdview.exe file has now been extracted.
    I still cannot install Reckon Accounts Personal 2019, after asking if I want to 'make changes to my computer', it opens the temp folder Reckon_Accounts_Personal_2019 and just sits there.
    I have tried same under two different user accounts on my computer, one never been opened before.
    This has been happening to me since Reckon Accounts Plus 2019 was released in October 2018.
    Running Windows 10 (up to date) on HP Spectre with 8GB and 64-bit operating system.
    I am at my wits end....
    regards
    Thea
  • Andrew Christie
    edited September 2019
    Hi Thea,

Yep frustrating - I can feel your pain.

Best bet is to remove everything of your previous attempts e.g.