Transactions posted twice from POS

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 4 years ago
  • Answered
Reckon Accounts crashed last night while a staff member was running end of day on our POS terminal. They restarted it and it completed, but now it appears that all sales from POS have been posted into Reckon twice. Is there any way of fixing this?
Photo of Wade McCarthy

Wade McCarthy

  • 200 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Andrew

Andrew

  • 22,222 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
Hi Wade,

Sadly no easy fix, the time to pick up the double posting would have been at the transfer stage when you had a extra transaction file than normal showing up.

Looks like the end of day semi completed before the crash, it got far enough to write the transaction log for posting, but not far enough to clear the flags for EOD etc.

I've had double postings before (from transaction logs that failed to import correctly). It can be a mess to clean up!

Hopefully you post every day, which makes the mess easier to clean up. In the past, running reports based on the date (being yesterday I'm guessing) and then deleting the dup transactions out.

If you do the roll up summery for all cash sales into one, then its only one transaction to delete, and then any customer account transactions will need to be removed separately.

Pro tip. Take a backup of Reckon Accounts Data file you start deleting, just in case ;)
Photo of Chris McGregor

Chris McGregor, Alum

  • 2,800 Points 2k badge 2x thumb
If You created a backup of you accounts prior to performing your post then you could restore you backup and then go to the recycle bin and restore the relive the days postings and repost again.

If not the only other thing to do is to do a report(probably audit trail would be best) for yesterday's transactions and I would recommend adding a note in the memo explaining what's happened then voiding each of the affected transactions. then perform a transfer again to get customer balances back in line with reckon account.

Of course you could just delete them but it's better to have a history of the transaction in case you are ever questioned.

Regards,
Chris
Photo of Andrew

Andrew

  • 22,222 Points 20k badge 2x thumb
While it never hurts, there would be no need to transfer to get the balances inline, as its a double post was into RA. The POS balances will be still valid.

Also from memory we deleted the transactions as we're a heavy 'customer account' booking up place and the statements ended up showing dup POS transactions from memory, which confused the clients. Either way, void or delete. Whatever works for you :)

But backups, backup, backups before you start the void/deleting process!