When I restore from a backup, Reckon wont let me overwrite the existing company as it is "Read Only" this seems to be a recent problem....

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 4 years ago
When I restore from a backup, Reckon wont let me overwrite the existing company as it is "Read Only"  this seems to be a recent problem....
Photo of Bev

Bev

  • 212 Points 100 badge 2x thumb

Posted 4 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Kevin Russell

Kevin Russell, Accredited Partner

  • 55,264 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Yes you might need to delete the old file or rename it. It happens to me occasionally. Are you logged in as Administrator?
Photo of Rav

Rav, Community Manager

  • 96,024 Points 50k badge 2x thumb
Hi Janne,

As Kevin has mentioned, it sounds like you already have a company file with that name in that location on this computer.  

Either, move the existing company file and its associated files (with extensions .QBW, .TLG .ND) to another location, or, rename them.

Let us know how you get on

Cheers
Rav
Photo of Bev

Bev

  • 212 Points 100 badge 2x thumb
Thanks, I found a work around elsewhere on the community.
Photo of nance.s

nance.s

  • 1,172 Points 1k badge 2x thumb
I found that if I right click on the file name where I want the backup to restore to it will allow me to do it otherwise I have to delete or rename the original file.