takes ages to open/close my software programme. Changed file location, backed up as portable and res

Options
Peta_7309202
Peta_7309202 Member Posts: 5
edited December 2017 in Reckon Accounts (Desktop)
why does it take a long time to open or close my software programme. It used to be quick. Have changed file location, backed up as portable and restored and rebuilt data, no joy....

Comments

  • Mirko
    Mirko Alumni Posts: 1,256 ✭✭
    edited November 2015
    Options
    Hi Peta, so we get some more info on your set up can you let me know which year and version of Accounts Business are you using? Which operating system?
  • Sally McIntosh, Accredited Consultant
    Sally McIntosh, Accredited Consultant Accredited Partner Posts: 468 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited February 2017
    Options

    Hi Peta,

    Can I suggest going to the view drop down menu > tick open window list. Have a look and see how many open windows you have.

    Then in edit drop down menu > preferences > desktop > my preferences > Don't save the desktop.

    Also, do you have the reminders list set to open when you login?

    Let me know how you go!

    Kind regards,

    Sally McIntosh (Sally@samsolutions.com.au)

  • Peta_7309202
    Peta_7309202 Member Posts: 5
    edited January 2015
    Options
    Hi Mirko, I have Reckon Accounts Pro 2014 and Windows 8
  • Peta_7309202
    Peta_7309202 Member Posts: 5
    edited January 2015
    Options
    HI Sally, I only have one window open at a time and I changed to 'don't save the desktop' but no change sadly. I don't use reminders and don't know where to find them either!!
    I realised I had the qbb files which I used to restore each of my 5 company files after upgrade in June in the same folder as the company files on my C drive, so deleted these and am now able to open previous companies - not sure that was the reason for it, but it's possible. Still no change to lengthy open and close process though....
  • Dharmesh
    Dharmesh Alumni Posts: 11
    edited January 2015
    Options

    Hi Peta,

    Thanks for your Post.

    If you are running on network environment and if hosting is done from server then can you please check below option and see if that make any difference.

    Open Reckon Accounts in your computer and then Go to File -> Utilities -> If you see Stop Hosting multi-user access, click on it to turn off hosting.

    Hopefully this should work but if not Please find below link which can give you details instructions on how to improve the speed of the file in network

    http://kb.reckon.com.au/issue_view.asp?ID=3793

    Kind Regards,
    Dharmesh

  • Peta_7309202
    Peta_7309202 Member Posts: 5
    edited January 2015
    Options
    Hi All, thanks very much for your suggestions. I have had to uninstall the programme and reinstall in a new user account. It is now working fine but is practically a nuisance in that my working space is on another user... any suggestions? I need all my docs and outlook etc......

  • Graham Boast
    Graham Boast Accredited Partner Posts: 331 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited December 2017
    Options
    Hi peta reckon installs for all user accounts, so it should also be available under your user id. Check the knowledge base article that Dharmesh has suggested, as slowness like this is often caused by incorrect multiuser setup or firewall issues, particularly where the database is on another computer and is accessed via a mapped drive. If you can't resolve it, I can usually fix issues like this via a remote support session. Graham Boast 0409317366 Reckon Accredited Consultant graham@reckonhelp.com.au http://reckonhelp.com.au/remotesupport.htm

    Graham Boast | 0409 317366 | graham@reckonhelp.com.au

  • Peta_7309202
    Peta_7309202 Member Posts: 5
    edited January 2015
    Options
    Hi Graham,
    Thank you for you response. After several hours of helpful attempts at resolving the issues, my Reckon phone support contact suggested I uninstall Reckon Accounts and reinstall in a new pc user account. This has resolved the slowness which is great but if I close the programme it doesn't recall the previous companies, so I have to open each of my 8 companies every time.. is there a solution to this? It is also VERY inconvenient to have my whole working user account separate from my Reckon Accounts ...... can I import all these into my new user account or will this compromise my Reckon again... Thanks  Peta
     
  • Graham Boast
    Graham Boast Accredited Partner Posts: 331 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited June 2015
    Options
    Hi Peta

    if you open reckon by right clicking on the reckon icon then selecting "run as administrator", you'll find that the file locations save properly. I would open all eight files, close the reckon, and from then just open reckon normally and your previous file should be there.

    in regards to the user accounts, the default location that reckon save files in is "public documents".  if this is the case in your instance you should be able to open the files from any user account.

    good luck.

    Graham Boast 0409317366
    Reckon Accredited Consultant
    graham@reckonhelp.com.au
    http://reckonhelp.com.au/remotesupport.htm

    Graham Boast | 0409 317366 | graham@reckonhelp.com.au