Installing from an Upgrade

Options
NeilCook
NeilCook Member Posts: 2
edited April 2020 in Reckon Accounts (Desktop)
I am currently using QuickBooks Plus 2008-09 on an old computer running XP.
The current 2008-09 I'm running was an upgrade from 07-08 which was an upgrade from 06-07....
I now have a new computer running Windows 7 and I want to buy and install an Upgrade to latest version of Accounting Plus on it.
If I buy the Upgrade will I be able to do an install with it on the new machine?

Comments

  • gazza73
    gazza73 Accredited Partner Posts: 803 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited February 2017
    Options
    Neil

    In principle, based on your question,  a very straight forward approach.  Yes.   Same product, newer version.

    The fact that you are on a different PC, no problem.   You'll just need to transfer the DATA files from the old PC to the new one.

    Install the new 2015 PLUS onto the Win7 box.  When you first attempt to open the old 2009 DATA files,  a process will commence to back it up (again), and convert it, to current format.

    Details of the steps are fully outlined in the UPGRADE release notes at:
    - http://www.reckon.com.au/Documents/Guides/ReckonAccounts2015InstallationUpgradeGuide.pdf

    A common answer also provided on this forum,  is the recommendation that
    a)  You make such upgrades in conjunction with accounting processing steps advised by your Accountant

    b)  You ensure the prerequisites of the network and operating systems of the computers involved, are compatible,  and do this with qualified IT people familiar with these matters

    c) AND:  that you take adequate backups BEFORE making any changes.

    There are over 300+ Accredited Partners who specialise in either Bookkeeping, Accounting, or in our case, IT/Business Analysis/Integration services,  that can oblige you with services in this regard.  Contacting any of them is easy,  via:

    http://home.reckon.com.au/support/Home/ReckonSupport/FindAReckonAccreditedPartner.aspx


    Cheers

    Gary Pope
    An Accredited Partner- Consultant  (VIC. Aust)

    "Working with Accountants/Bookkeepers PPs/APs, as an
          independent IT Professional
    and retired FCPA Accountant"

  • NeilCook
    NeilCook Member Posts: 2
    edited June 2015
    Options
    Thanks Gary but that still doesn't address my fear that, from my past experience with other software installs using a CD or download that was purchased as an Upgrade, the Upgrade install process won't work if it can't find the older version of the product already on the PC you are running the Upgrade on. If that's the case with Reckon Upgrades then trying to use an Upgrade to perform a full install on the new PC  won't work for me. I don't want to buy the Upgrade for a bit under $500 and then find I can't use it. I've seen other old conversations on Reckon Community of people asking the same question and they didn't get an answer. One was told to call the 1800 number.
  • Charley
    Charley Member Posts: 546 ✭✭✭
    edited January 2020
    Options
    Neil, rather than an upgrade, why don't you buy a subscription. It's a yearly thing but it gives you an up to date program every year including PAYG tables etc etc
  • gazza73
    gazza73 Accredited Partner Posts: 803 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited February 2017
    Options
    Charles and Neil. 

    Neil's historic concern is a valid observation.  Such a scenario would be the case if  the product was an 'upgrade only' type product, that expected a pre-existing product to exist.  But in this case, Neil wishes to use a totally new machine that has never seen this product before (of any version). My comment would be,, that the product be acquired (whether as a box or a subscription as Charles rightfully points out) but as a full product.   

    Putting the old DATA into the newer product environment, will prompt for a process of upgrading the DATA aspect,  which can be done as a secondary step.

    A fresh full install onto the new Win7 box will come with a training company file.  Putting a COPY of the QBW files  next to that new training company, and asking the new full product to open it (ie: 2015 product opening the old 2008-09 data file),  will initiate an upgrading process (of the DATA - not any program files).  That upgrading process will force a backup (in Reckon style),  followed by a n internal upgrade of the QBW files.  All this would be on the new machine.  Meantime,  the old XP machine running the old 2008-09 program using old styled (be-it-all the current business data content) remains  separate on a totally unrelated machine in the corner.

    Neil.  You can clarify this on the sales line,  by seeking a NEW FULL version and mention your intention to migrate an old data file.

    Anyway,  if you really want to try-before-you-buy,  why not fetch yourself a free TRIAL copy and go through the whole exercise using the kits fro here.  on your Win7 box.
    (NOTE:  I'd like to clarify whether a 'trial' version will permit you to go through the process of an upgrade of old live files.....  need to check that, before getting too excited about that approach....)

    http://home.reckon.com.au/support/Home/Downloads/TrialDownloads.aspx

    If you like the outcome,.  then buy a key code and activate it out of trial mode.  Any other questions, reply here or call me on 0408994799.  I'm in The Basin VIC. (35kms east of Melbourne).   Or contact any of the 300+ Accredited Partners throughout Aust/NZ  at: 

    http://home.reckon.com.au/support/Home/ReckonSupport/FindAReckonAccreditedPartner.aspx



    Cheers

    Gary Pope
    An Accredited Partner- Consultant  (VIC. Aust)

    "Working with Accountants/Bookkeepers PPs/APs, as an
          independent IT Professional
    and retired FCPA Accountant"

  • gazza73
    gazza73 Accredited Partner Posts: 803 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited February 2017
    Options
    Neil

    Thought I'd clarify the 'trial' ability to do a conversion.  Yes it does.  So,  I'd suggest this is what you could do, to satisfy yourself easily.  Do a  try-before-you-buy,  by fetching yourself a free TRIAL copy and go through the whole exercise using the kits from here.  on your Win7 box.

    http://home.reckon.com.au/support/Home/Downloads/TrialDownloads.aspx

    If you like the outcome,.  then buy a key code and activate it out of trial mode (or uninstall the trial, and do a full installation again,  but with the absolute latest copy of your live data).

    NOTE.  In this example,  the product being converted happens to be post 2008 and is therefore a single conversion step.    For other forum readers, who may be using a different/older product,  then there may be additional conversion steps to do, and we would encourage the reading of these release notes first:
    - http://www.reckon.com.au/Documents/Guides/ReckonAccounts2015InstallationUpgradeGuide.pdf


    Cheers!

    Gary Pope
    An Accredited Partner- Consultant  (VIC. Aust)

    "Working with Accountants/Bookkeepers PPs/APs, as an
          independent IT Professional
    and retired FCPA Accountant"



  • ARC BookKeeping
    ARC BookKeeping Member Posts: 168
    edited June 2015
    Options
    I am not sure if this is a slight difference in products between Aussie and NZ but I have installed several NZ upgrade versions of RA on to a new PC. The product over here is called a 'Direct upgrade' which means they get sold the full product at an upgrade price. (of course the fact that they are a current user/owner of RA or QKBs is established first via Consultant &/or ReckonNZ in your case ReckonAU)

    So on the old PC you do a back up of the Company File (I also do a Portable company file backup, as I prefer to restore from a portable) on say a flash/pen/usb drive.
    Install RA on new PC.
    Restore company file from Backup

    (of course you would also have to take note of all that Gary mentioned above re details of the company file)

    and you are away laughing.

    Cheers
  • Graham Boast
    Graham Boast Accredited Partner Posts: 331 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited December 2017
    Options
    Yes, same here in Oz

    The checking is done when the purchase is made, and the product is linked to that customer ID.  The need to look for an earlier version is therefore unnecessary.

    Graham

    Graham Boast | 0409 317366 | graham@reckonhelp.com.au

  • Kwikbooks (Professional Partner)
    Kwikbooks (Professional Partner) Member Posts: 824 ✭✭✭
    edited April 2020
    Options
    when doing upgrades it gives the option to upgrade to the existing folder and upgrade all files, or to a new folder and keep separate.

    An upgrade from such an old version would be full price anyway, therefore as suggested an annual subscription would do the job or even hosted, that way is isn't installed on a PC and you can login from any PC.
  • gazza73
    gazza73 Accredited Partner Posts: 803 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited February 2017
    Options
    Neil,

    if you're back to this forum, on the solutions to this question, might I suggest you contact any of the above AP's who most likely can assist with good  arrangements for supplying the subscriptions ro full products you require in relation to this particular matter.   They are on record thoughout this forum of helping many a like-0minded customer as yourself.

    Gary Pope
    An Accredited Partner- Consultant  (VIC. Aust)

    "Working with Accountants/Bookkeepers PPs/APs, as an
          independent IT Professional
    and retired FCPA Accountant"