Debtors'statement

brianbrian Member Posts: 53
edited January 2020 in Accounts Business Range
Can anyone tell me why (and how to change it) debtors' invoices on the statements I send out print in alpha order (by the "Description") on the statements and not by by date order of the transaction? Date order of the transaction is what I (and my customers) want.
Accounting Small Business 2018 R1 running on Windows 10.

Comments

  • Acctd4Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 885 ✭✭✭
    edited September 2019
    Hi Brian

    That is unusual - I've not encountered that happening before.  The standard default format is date order.

    Do you have the "Show tax invoice details on statements" checkbox ticked in your Create Statements screen?
    This shows each line alphabetically but the invoices themselves should still be in date & number order. 
    (If so, I'd recommend un-ticking it.  A statement is a summary listing - this detail is already on the originally-issued invoice, so repeating each invoice's line again just clogs up the statement display plus costs you extra in additional ink & paper!) 

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015) *

    ICB-Certified Bookkeeper * Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    0422 886 003

    [email protected]

    https://www.accounted4bs.com/

  • brianbrian Member Posts: 53
    edited January 2020
    I don't seem to have that option under Create statement Shaz and there is no option like that under Edit/Preferences that I can see. I can't seem to snip or copy the Create statements option and paste here, but I could send it to your email address. The "tax invoice details" do appear on the statement - usually the description I gave it when I created the original job together with the invoice nr, date and date due. The problem arises when I go to reconcile overdue accounts and the date of transaction is all over the place - sometimes 2 or 3 pages away from the original transaction.
  • Acctd4Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 885 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    What version (eg Plus, Premier etc) of RA are you using Brian?

    Below is a snip of the Create Statements screen in RA Premier, but I believe it's more basic in Plus in that it doesn't have as many options: 

     image


    Am not sure what you're meaning when you say "reconcile overdue accounts".
    Do you not record/allocate the customer payments as they are received?

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015) *

    ICB-Certified Bookkeeper * Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    0422 886 003

    [email protected]

    https://www.accounted4bs.com/

  • brianbrian Member Posts: 53
    edited January 2020
    It is RA Accounting Small Business Edition R1, It doesn't have the options down the right hand side of the attachment above. My reconciling is when customers don't pay the exact amount and the programme applies the payment to whatever it thinks is close - often leaving an unexplained amount. Being an electrician and not a very good book keeper I only reconcile when I get a problem and sometimes that is months afterwards.
  • brianbrian Member Posts: 53
    edited January 2020
    Was there any further thought on this? I know it is only a little annoying detail but if I can I would like to fix it.
  • Acctd4Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 885 ✭✭✭
    edited September 2019
    Hi Brian

    Just to clarify .... Applying payments to invoices & reconciling are 2 different processes, both in general terms & in RA.

    The "Receive Payments" window is where you allocate the payments which I believe is where you're experiencing this issue ?
    (I'm still a bit unclear on your query as this window is not the same as what's shown on a Statement, however both should be displaying transactions in date order)

    If you would prefer the program to allow you to allocate payments manually to invoices - rather than it auto-applying - you can turn this option off (untick the checkbox) in Preferences.

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015) *

    ICB-Certified Bookkeeper * Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    0422 886 003

    [email protected]

    https://www.accounted4bs.com/

  • brianbrian Member Posts: 53
    edited January 2020
    I do understand the difference. I am not worried about the reconciliation procedure. I was just trying to explain the need to have transactions chronologically in order rather than alphabetical by job code. In many years in  business I have never seen debtors' statement in anything but date order - until I got Reckon Accounting. I can send you an example if you can give me an address. I can't snip or screen shot and attach in this forum and with Reckon's usual attitude they don't make their requirements suitable to what Microsoft does (not PNG, JPG or GIF. MS PDF doesn't suit RA .
  • Brian KeeneBrian Keene Member Posts: 2
    edited October 2018
    Is there any answer to this issue?
  • Acctd4Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 885 ✭✭✭
    edited September 2019
    Hi Brian

    You should be able to do a snip (using the "Snipping Tool") , save it to your PC & upload it here via the camera icon (along the formatting bar shown at the bottom when you're typing a comment). 
    If it doesn't show in your Start Menu, do a search for "Snip" & you should find it.  
    My snip above was in RA on a Windows PC.

    If I can see the transactions list as it displays I might be able to see the problem.

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015) *

    ICB-Certified Bookkeeper * Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    0422 886 003

    [email protected]

    https://www.accounted4bs.com/

  • brianbrian Member Posts: 53
    edited January 2020
    I can only save it in Microsoft as a snip, as a PDF or a TXT file. Reckon cannot handle either of those. If I take a screen shot and paste it into Word I cannot save it as anything Reckon will accept. If I had an address I could send a PDF to I could do that but Reckon will not accept anything but PNG, JPG or GIF and I cannot do any of those in Microsoft Office 365.
  • Acctd4Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 885 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2018
    Ahh ... OK Brian. 
    Feel free to send it through to me as a PDF at: [email protected] & I'll have a look. 

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015) *

    ICB-Certified Bookkeeper * Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    0422 886 003

    [email protected]

    https://www.accounted4bs.com/

Sign In or Register to comment.