New to Reckon, how to sync up?

Options
Steff Yang
Steff Yang Member Posts: 9
edited July 2020 in Reckon Accounts (Desktop)
Hi guys, I'm using Reckon Accounts 2014 Premier- the retail edition 2014, can anyone tell me how can I sync data with my colleague? Like how can we both working on this software from two separate computers and we both can see the changes each other made on our computer? We both have already got the software installed and setup the multi-user mode, but the data is not syncing. Thank you so much.

Comments

  • cosmic
    cosmic Reckon Developer Partner Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭
    edited September 2018
    Options
    Wow, easy one Reckon Support can help or Gary Pope!, you have a networking and multi user issue......

    Cosmic Accounting Group

    Accountants and Tax Agents 22397009

  • Steff Yang
    Steff Yang Member Posts: 9
    edited July 2015
    Options
    Um...so I'm suppose to call Reckon Support?
  • Mirko
    Mirko Alumni Posts: 1,256 ✭✭
    edited November 2015
    Options
    Steff see this old post on setting up the multuser network. Read QuickBooks as Reckon Accounts, as this is an old article - the functions are very much the same. Alternatively best to get in touch with support or an Accredited Partner to set this up for you, if you do not feel comfortable or have trouble.
  • John Graetz
    John Graetz Member Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭
    edited July 2020
    Options
    Hi Steff.  Have you actually installed the software onto the Server as per those instructions?  There is a specific way that this must be set up in order for multple users to be logged on at the same time.  There is no syncing of data as such because you should be both using the networked file.  John G.
  • Steff Yang
    Steff Yang Member Posts: 9
    edited July 2015
    Options
    I'll try install them again and set up a network file. Thank you so much.
  • Steff Yang
    Steff Yang Member Posts: 9
    edited July 2015
    Options
    I'm reading the article just now~ Thanks for helping again.
  • Sheree_6958471
    Sheree_6958471 Member Posts: 25
    edited November 2015
    Options

    Are you sure you set up the network file on only the one PC ? That one PC then runs the actual file and you both use the one file, in multi user mode  you are accessing the same file (there are some things that you can't do at the same time, but most functions are available ).  If you installed the file on both PC's then you are actually using two separate files, not the one.

    That is my understanding anyway.

  • Steff Yang
    Steff Yang Member Posts: 9
    edited July 2015
    Options
    Well,I set up the share file on my PC and my colleague can see my shared file, but she just can't open the company file, let alone doing any changes......What do you mean by "installed the file on both PC's"? Like we shouldn't have installed Reckon on both our PC's? Help, please.
  • Mirko
    Mirko Alumni Posts: 1,256 ✭✭
    edited November 2015
    Options
    Hey Steff, this conversation maybe of some assistance to you. It spells through setting up one of the Reckon users as Admin and host of the Multi-User network. Aside from this make sure you have two users set up within the data file, so two users can log into the same file.