How to import tax codes when importing cheques

Mike SmithMike Smith Member Posts: 4
I am using an IIF file to import cheques into Quickbooks and the only issue I seem to have is with recording GST.  Is there a way to record the tax code against each disbursement line or the header line in the import file?
Thanks for your assistance.
I've looked at:https://community.reckon.com/reckon/topics/how_to_import_tax_codes_when_importing_invoices_or_sales_...

And tried what they suggested but it still did not work. Here is a sample of what I tried:
!TRNS    TRNSID    TRNSTYPE    DATE    MEMO    ACCNT    NAME    CLASS    AMOUNT    DOCNUM    CLEAR    TOPRINT    NAMEISTAXABLE    ADDR1    ADDR2    ADDR3    ADDR4    ADDR5
!SPL    SPLID    TRNSTYPE    DATE    MEMO    ACCNT    NAME    CLASS    AMOUNT    DOCNUM    CLEAR    TAXABLE    TAXCODE    TAXAMOUNT    VALADJ    REIMBEXP    EXTRA   
!ENDTRNS                                                                   
TRNS         CHECK    8/14/2017    Expenses Jan-Feb    TD Bank    Acme        -56.15         N    Y         Acme               
SPL         CHECK    8/14/2017        Professional Fees            36.15        N    Y    G    3.62    N    NOTHING    AUTOSTAX   
SPL         CHECK    8/14/2017        Utilities            20        N    Y    G    2    N    NOTHING    AUTOSTAX   
ENDTRNS

Idealy what I would like would be to enter the Tax code of "G" (GST) and it would automatically calculate the tax, just like it does when you write cheques. In the above example I entered a made up tax amount under TAXAMOUNT.

Comments

  • ShakirShakir Alumni Posts: 82
    edited January 2018
    Hi Mike, thanks for your post and Welcome to Reckon community.

    Please refer to this Thread regarding importing of transactions and tax in RAB.

    Hope it helps'

    Regards
    Shakir
  • Mike SmithMike Smith Member Posts: 4
    edited January 2018
    Hello Shakir, thank you for your response that link is the same as I posted. I looked at it before i commented and could not get it working. If someone could shed some light on this that would be great. Please not I'm importing a cheque unlike Lisa who was importing an invoice. Perhaps that has something to do with it.
  • Data RecData Rec Reckon Staff Posts: 816 ✭✭
    edited July 2019
    Hi Mike, 

    The program will not automatically calculate the TAXAMOUNT based off a tax code when importing an import file.

    When creating an IIF import file for transactions, you would need to manually calculate the tax amount yourself and enter that as the TAXAMOUNT value in the import file.

    Regards,

    Data Recovery Team



    Regards,

    Reckon Data Recovery Team

    You can request assistance via the case request web form below.

    https://www.reckon.com/au/data-services-request/

  • Mike SmithMike Smith Member Posts: 4
    edited January 2018
    I understand, and in my example I have a TAXAMOUNT yet it does not work. Would you or anyone be able to provide an example IIF file that has the tax code set?
  • Data RecData Rec Reckon Staff Posts: 816 ✭✭
    edited July 2019
    Hi Mike,

    A transaction needs to be balanced.
    The total AMOUNT in the TRNS line, needs to match the sum total of the SPL lines.


    image
    "You can have more than 1 SPL lines, but the sum of the amount in the TRANS line plus the sum of the amounts plus taxamounts in the SPL lines must equal zero."

    See the following community posts.

    https://community.reckon.com.au/reckon/topics/creating_iif_files_to_talk_with_reckon_accounts

    https://community.reckon.com/reckon/topics/how_to_import_tax_codes_when_importing_invoices_or_sales_...

    Regards,

    Data Recovery Team

    Regards,

    Reckon Data Recovery Team

    You can request assistance via the case request web form below.

    https://www.reckon.com/au/data-services-request/

  • Mike SmithMike Smith Member Posts: 4
    edited January 2018
    Strange I tried your headers and it still didn't work. Complained about the amounts not being balanced. My only guess is somehow the taxcode, taxamount and taxable is not being recognized for some reason.

Sign In or Register to comment.