Personal Plus, Portfolio View, 'Day Change' and 'Day Change %' columns do't update when I Update sha

13»

Comments

  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,861 Administrator
    edited December 2016
    Hi folks,

    Please check out our new KB article here which outlines the steps to rectify the Portfolio View refresh issues.

    Thank you all for hanging in there and sincere apologies for all the hassle.

    Rav
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,861 Administrator
    edited December 2016
    Hi folks,

    Please check out our new KB article here which outlines the steps to rectify the Portfolio View refresh issues.

    Thank you all for hanging in there and sincere apologies for all the hassle.

    Rav
  • peter.langpeter.lang Member Posts: 101
    edited December 2016
    Rav,

    I've stated many times on this thread that fixes lie this might be OK for IT savvy young people, but I can't do this.  It would cost me hundreds of dollars perhaps 1000 to get someone to do it and assure there is no risk to my program and will not affect future updates.  Furthermore, there must be many other clients in the same position as me who can't do this.  Why doesn't Reckon fix the problem at there end where they broke it in the first place (in mid-May, not June!!!)?

    The fact that Reckon is not listening to what I've said, and doesn't even realise when it broke, demonstrates this is a dodgy fix   the Quality control is atrocious.

    Can you please do a better job of looking after your clients.  I've been using Quicken since 1991 and have my data from 1989.  It's really disgraceful that the quality management and your fixes has regressed to this level of back yard workmanship since Reckon took over from Quicken.

    Please fix the problem at your end or provide a a new release for all your clients.

    Please acknowledge you've read this, and my other comments on this and will address this request.  It's now nearly 3 months since this broke (i.e. it broke around mid May, or around a week to 10 days before 24 May).

    Peter Lang
  • stst Member Posts: 121
    edited June 2018
    Hi Rav, you claim in another thread  (now closed) that PP2016 was not affected.   I can assure you that it was affected as I have PP2016 and after download of ASX prices (nothing to do with US prices) the columns are not updated.   I have to change dates and return to the current date simply in order to refresh the columns with the data.

    I haven't downloaded the qu.... dll file as someone else has pointed out that a side-effect is that no longer is it possible to convert to QIF.   Apparently that was being looked into but I haven't heard anything.

  • peter.langpeter.lang Member Posts: 101
    edited November 2019
    Rav said on another thread (incorrectly):

    "Hi everyone,

    In late June 2016 we applied a fix to remedy issues with US share price information not downloading.

    Unfortunately this fix also adversely impacted the Day Change and Day Change % columns on Portfolio View on Reckon Accounts Personal Plus 2015 and 2016.

    Our Development team have created a fix for the Portfolio View refresh issues. The download and full details can be found here.

    Sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration caused.

    Rav"

    The issue HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED!.  It is not fixed.  And he incorrectly says the problem started in June.  It started between about mid May and about 20 May.  The problem was obviously caused by a poorly managed in-house "fix" within the Reckon system.  Therefore, it should be fixed in Reckon, not by sending out instructions to a few clients who follow this blog site to make some sort of dodgy fix that most clients couldn't do and would even know about.
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,861 Administrator
    edited December 2016
    Hi Steven
    An oversight on my part, have corrected the post.

    The Export QIF side effect you are referring to only happened in Personal 2015, not 2016 (this has now been resolved with the latest DLL below).

    If you are using Personal 2015, use the steps here to resolve the Portfolio refresh issue.

    If you are using Personal 2016, use the steps here to resolve the Portfolio refresh issue.
  • peter.langpeter.lang Member Posts: 101
    edited December 2016
    Rav,

    I raised this issue.  Why are you ignoring my comments (and pleas for you to fix this problem properly)?

    What is going on in Reckon that you deal with customers of 25 years like this?
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,861 Administrator
    edited December 2016
    Hi Peter,

    There were a couple of errors on that post from myself which I have since corrected. The post you've outlined above states the fix ?was applied in late June which is correct.

    Our Product Owner Neil will drop by this thread today to discuss your direct concerns.
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,861 Administrator
    edited December 2016
    Hi Peter,
    Definitely not ignoring your posts. As per my reply below, Neil will be dropping by and responding to your concerns on this thread directly.

    Thanks
    Rav
  • peter.langpeter.lang Member Posts: 101
    edited December 2016
    Thank you for your reply.  I hope Neil will explain Reckon will do to fix the problem for me and the other Reckon Clients who do not have the competence to do the IT stuff and are not willing to risk making the matter worse (e.g. a problem as a result of this in the future).
  • peter.langpeter.lang Member Posts: 101
    edited December 2016
    John-T, thank you for your support on this.  Much appreciated.  I hope Reckon will take this concern seriously and address it.
  • NeilNeil Reckon Staff Posts: 108
    edited December 2016
    Hi Peter,

    The issue with the US Share Prices not downloading which also causes the Portfolio to not refresh wasn't due to a change we made with the Reckon infrastructure. The issue was due to a change at the source where we get the US Share data from.

    Unfortunately there is no way we can fix this from our end.

    If you send your contact details through to [email protected], we can have a technician call you and either walk you through how to copy the file across or remote into your PC and do it for you.

    Currently if we were to do a full release including the new DLL it would add several weeks for you to receive it due to testing and delivery whereas the replacement DLL is ready now from the KB article Rav posted above.

    Regards

    Neil

  • peter.langpeter.lang Member Posts: 101
    edited December 2016
    Hi Neil,

    Thank you for getting back on this.  I'll wait for the new release.  As I've said above, I do not want to muck around with a cheap, bodge fix.  I've had enormous problems in the past with Quicken, Reckon and other products and I don't want to risk it.  It takes forever to get support often never gets fixed.  The person blames somebody or something outside their control.

    As an aside, I do not understand/accept this: 

    "The issue with the US Share Prices not downloading which also causes the Portfolio to not refresh wasn't due to a change we made with the Reckon infrastructure. "  

    That is the same excuse Reckon used last year (and previous times).  It led to unforeseen consequences that took months to sort out.  The data suppliers will inevitably change their systems from time to time and the Reckon system should be robust and able to be changed quickly - preferably be ready beforehand so it is changed on the day the source system is changed.  I presume the data is loaded into a table or some sort of system in Reckon and then sent to us.  The table (or whatever it is that dispatches the data to users) should not change, only the way you convert the data to enter into your system.  

    By blaming the source, it suggests Reckon has learnt nothing from the many times Reckon has had problems with the data in the past from ASX.

    I'll wait for the official release.
  • LeonLeon Member Posts: 8
    edited August 2016
    Thanks for the info. I followed the steps and it worked for PP2016.
Sign In or Register to comment.