How to clean up reckon accounts hosted

Mikayla RenwickMikayla Renwick Member Posts: 4
edited October 2019 in Accounts Hosted
Hi , 
Myself and another have recently taken over the Office for a buisness. We are using Reckon Accounts Hosted , the previous bookkeeper of 6 years has left an absolute mess. Is there anyway for us to start cleaning up the company file without starting from scratch (which we cant do) Payroll items aren't set up properly , reports etc. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. 

Comments

  • ZappyZappy Accredited Partner Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭
    edited September 2019
    Nope. Just start a new file.
  • Mikayla RenwickMikayla Renwick Member Posts: 4
    edited September 2019
    will starting a new file mean that we will lose the previous years records ? 
    Thank you for your prompt response. 
  • Kevin RussellKevin Russell Member Posts: 27
    edited September 2019
    Yes. And don't mention it. It's what I do. Kevin 0407744914
  • Glenda VealeGlenda Veale Member Posts: 178
    edited September 2019
    You will still have the old records in the old file that you can go back to look at.  You can also export and import the chart of accounts, supplier lists, etc.  Not a completely new start but may be the best solution for you.

  • Graham MeredithGraham Meredith Member Posts: 55
    edited September 2019
    Hi Mikayla

    It sounds like you would benefit from a Reckon Accredited Partner helping you set up the file, so it is set up correctly this time and then will flow perfectly for you going forward and also you would then have a point of contact for tricky questions.

    If you look on the Reckon website you will be able to search for a partner near you.

    Cheers

    Graham
  • Kevin RussellKevin Russell Member Posts: 27
    edited September 2019
    Oh I'm a Reckon Accredited Partner as well.
  • Jacqui AllenJacqui Allen Member Posts: 243
    edited October 2019
    Why is it everyone suggests creating a new file!  Without having looked at the data file.
    I fully understand the importance of having historical data in the current file.
    In some instances it's a simple matter of changing the linked accounts to items, payroll items etc  & a couple of EOY journals to reallocate say ATO payments and yes sometimes it is necessary to setup a new data file!!!


  • Kevin RussellKevin Russell Member Posts: 27
    edited October 2019
    Jacquie some times it's the best idea if the data file is rubbish. I've got one here I've had since version seven but I'm fairly fastidious about the file maintenance. Not everyone is.
  • Jacqui AllenJacqui Allen Member Posts: 243
    edited October 2019
    I agree, however no one can make that assumption without having looked at the data file!
  • ZappyZappy Accredited Partner Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2019
    I agree and I also disagree . It's based on my experience of over 20 years
  • Jacqui AllenJacqui Allen Member Posts: 243
    edited October 2019
    I too am a long time user of Reckon, almost 30 years, started back in '92 when it was known as IHA with a couple of guy's working out of a garage.
Sign In or Register to comment.