How do I make a copy for my acountan?

Options
Cheryl Boneham
Cheryl Boneham Member Posts: 17
edited June 2020 in Accounts Hosted
She says that I have to set up as a user but that will cost money. Surely I don't have to do that. They usually get me to load my backup into their secure cloud but I can't find out how to backup to any place other than my back up drive.

Comments

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,492 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited May 2020
    Options
    Yes you do backup to the B drive and then download it to your computer, then send to accountant for him to restore to his account. You should be backing up and downloading on a regular basis anyway
  • Cheryl Boneham
    Cheryl Boneham Member Posts: 17
    edited April 2020
    Options
    Thanks, I back up nearly every day but I didn't know I could then load it on to my computer?  How do you go about doing that?
  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,492 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited May 2020
    Options
    Using the floating toolbar click the arrow down and navigate to B drive and select file and click Save.
  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,589 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited September 2019
    Options

    Hi Cheryl

     

    Is your accountant just wanting to view the data?
    If so, alternatively they can just login using your RAH login credentials.

     

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    Reckon Accredited Professional Partner Bookkeeper / Registered BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    0422 886 003

    shazinoz2@bigpond.com

    www.accounted4bs.com

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Jeffrey Arana_7451558
    Jeffrey Arana_7451558 Member Posts: 51
    edited June 2020
    Options
    Hi Cheryl. This was asked of us just recently.
    If an auditor is requesting for QB file. “They want an accountant's copy“
    (Note: only the administrator can do it)

    https://quickbooks.intuit.com/learn-support/en-us/your-books-or-my-company/create-an-accountant-s-co...

    or here:
    To create an Accountant's Copy (.QBX)
    1. Go to the File menu, then select Send Company File.
    2. Select Accountant's Copy > Client Activities.
    3. If you want to save the file locally:
      1. Select Save File.
      2. Choose the appropriate location you want to save the file.

      If you want to send the file using Accountant's Copy File Transfer (ACFT) service:

      1. Select Send to Accountant, then Next.
      2. Enter the dividing date, then Next.
      3. Enter your accountant's email address, your name, and your email address.
      4. Create and reenter a file transfer password for security. If needed, you can also include a note to your accountant.
      5. Select Send. QuickBooks will then close all windows.
  • Linda ABC
    Linda ABC Accredited Partner Posts: 1,133 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited August 2019
    Options
    I don't think an Auditor should be asking for an Accountants Copy in the Reckon sense of the word
    - why would an Auditor be needing to change anything in a file?
    - they should only be reviewing a file?

    - there is no point creating an Accountants Copy unless you expect that someone will make changes and then you will need to incorporate those changes back into your file.  While the file is in Accountants Copy mode - there are some things you cant do - and you have to revert back to a normal version - I never recommend clients create an Accountants Copy unless they are expecting their account to actual edit entries or add journals and that their accountant then knows how to send the file back to them so that they can import the changes?

    just my 2 cents worth - I have seen too many people do this and then have their file being in the Accountants Changes pending mode for years and not be able to do certain tasks with the file - for no real reason.

    I agree with Shaz - just give the auditor your login details and create a View Only user for them to use - they can then review the file and you dont need to do anything.

    If you really want to download a backup and restore it to your computer - or have your Accountant/Auditor restore it to their computer - then each Hosted Licence allows you to install one instance of Enterprise Desktop on a single computer... you should contact Reckon and they will provide you with an installation key code and tell you where you can download a copy of the install file.
  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,492 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited August 2019
    Options
    Totally agree with all that, I never allow accountants to change the file I would rather do the changes myself
  • JP_10124694
    JP_10124694 Member Posts: 10
    Options

    Great but how do you send a backup copy then?

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,492 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited April 2023
    Options

    If he has access to the program all you have to do is backup the file, download to your computer and send to him. I use a website called we transfer.com to send large files to an email address. It’s free, and reasonably fast. He then downloads from the same website and restores the backup to his copy of Reckon

    if there any any changes to be made he can then send you a list to see what the changes are and possibly ask questions and then you can do them