First payrun in 2023,

Options
Rob_9593369
Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭

the process STP screen says I have no payments in the given year. WTF?

Best Answer

  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Answer ✓
    Options

    Ah sussed it! In the employees tax information there's a box that says "exclude from payment summary and STP". For some reason I had that checked! 🤷‍♂️

    Thanks so much to everyone for your help!

Answers

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,592 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Hi Rob

    Check the year - It defaults to the current (which would now be 2023/24) 😊


    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    I upgraded to 2023 Desktop - ran the migration assistant. All seemed to go fine. Did my first payrun and when it got to the process STP screen it says theres noy payments, but the chqs are there?

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,494 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    are you trying to do the EOFY finalisation or just lodge the first payrun and subsequent STP. Check the date range in the window that pops up, what date is the actual pay date?

  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    Nah - done last years finalization. Just trying to do my first run this year. Yep, the date is right 5-7-23, same as the chqs that are there

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,494 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    That’s weird, a bit hard to say without seeing the file

  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    I think its something to do with the migration assistant - it's not recognizing the pay cheques or something

    Has anyone successfully run their first run this year?

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,592 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Are you using the new 2023 version & have you completed the STP2 Migration Assistant ?

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options
  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,494 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited July 2023
    Options

    Yes I have done pays in 2023 version, AH but in Hosted not Desktop

  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    I just dont understand how there can be paycheques sitting up there dated 5/7/2023, but the process STP screen says there are none?

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,494 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    No it is a mystery, call me 0415940843

  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    Thanks Kris - if I don't sort it tonight I'll call tomoz. Bloody millennial's, their brains don't work like ours! 😂

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,592 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited July 2023
    Options

    After you did the STP2 Migration Assistant, did you go back & select the Complete STP Phase 2 Setup option also ? You need to have selected this afterwards for all the STP2 changes to import back in/update 😬

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    Yes - did the complete phase 2 thing. Maybe if I delete the paycheques and do the run again?

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,494 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Would be worth a try Rob if there aren’t too many, but still a mystery

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,592 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Sounds like the completion didn’t fully update. I would redo them ☺️

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    Is it ok to leave the STP Tax category and Medicare levy surcharge fields blank?

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,592 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Yes, these should ONLY be selected if specifically relevant 😊

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    Did the migration assistant again. Where & how do I update the Lump sum and super etc?

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 16,032 Community Manager Community Manager
    edited July 2023
    Options

    Hi Rob

    Super Guarantee does not have any tax tracking type that you need to update to for STP Phase 2.

    Only salary sacrifice and Lump Sum items require manual updating.

    You can find these items by going to Lists ➡ Payroll Item List ➡ Selecting the item and editing it.

    The reference to 'super' in that final screen on the Migration Assistant is erroneous and can be disregarded.

    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    Still got the original problem. I deleted the paycheque and did an unscheduled run to redo it. The pay period is from 23-6-23 to 2-7-23. Odd thing is that warning about "no employees have been paid in the given year" pops up when I deleted the chq, and the final screen of the payrun!

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,494 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Did you try the complete migration wizard again

  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    Yes - it all seemed to go well. It's like STP can't see the chqs, even though they are there. If I do a payroll report it shows them there - with correct dates.

    😫

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 16,032 Community Manager Community Manager
    Options

    Hey Rob

    From the sounds of it, you've done everything right so its a bit strange. I think the next step from here is for our tech support team to run their eyes over your file and take a closer look into what could be causing this.

    When you've got a moment, can you please give the team a buzz on 1300 799 150 so we can have a technician assist and hopefully get you back on track ASAP.

    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    So gave the team a buzz - he reckoned my problem was I hadn't finalized on 30th June. I pay on Mondays ie 2/7/2023. Surely that is my first pay run for YE 2024? No difference anyway - if I try to do a pay run from 1-7-2023 to 8-7-2023, it still says theres no pay events in that year. I'll have to call them back I guess.

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,592 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Hi Rob

    You are absolutely correct. Anything PAID on or before 30th June is 2023, anything PAID from 1st July onwards is the current (2024) FY.

    I don’t know why they would have told you that you needed to finalise ON 30th June - That is definitely NOT the case!

    The finalise file is automatically DATED 30/06/23 because it’s a finalisation of that FY 🤦🏻‍♀️

    I’m flat out all day & evening tomorrow & Saturday until mid-late afternoon but if you’d like me to take a look, I’m happy to do so after that (Saturday evening or Sunday) to try & get this resolved for you ☺️

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    Oh Shaz I'd really appreciate that! It's driving me crazy, and the help line isn't that helpful! Should I email you a backup?

    Thanks, Rob.

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 16,032 Community Manager Community Manager
    Options

    Hi Rob

    I was just in a meeting with the support team and raised your case with them. While they haven't come across this sort of situation before a suggestion was raised to refresh your pay run and see if that 'forces' it to populate in the Process STP screen.

    To do that, unlock the pay run, edit a pay item, save it. Then edit it again to reverse that edit ie. put it back to what it should be. Save it.

    Once that is done, try to generate the STP file and hopefully the the payrun appears on-screen for you to do so.


    Would be keen to hear how you go.

    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    Thanks Rav - I couldn't find where to unlock the actual pay run - but I did what you suggested by unlocking the actual pay cheque - still it doesn't appear in the process STP.

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 16,032 Community Manager Community Manager
    Options

    Ahh yes, I should have thought of that! Glad you managed to sort it Rob, good work 👏

    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,592 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Hi Rob

    Yes, if you can email me a backup, I'll take a look at it for you 😊

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Rob_9593369
    Rob_9593369 Member Posts: 31 ✭✭
    Options

    Thanks for the offer and your help Shaz, but I sorted it. See up the top. Thanks again.

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,592 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Good to hear Rob! The Exclude from Payment Summary & STP checkbox was going to be the first thing I looked at in your backup as I had a feeling it might be that - Glad you finally got it sorted 😊

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)