Share prices not updating Personal Plus 2017

2»

Comments

  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,760 Administrator
    edited March 2017
    My query is - does this mean I have to now go through and change all stock types to 'Stock'?
    Yes, you will need to ensure that all stocks have the Type set to 'Stock'.
    All stocks must be in the configuration outlined in my earlier post.
    It is very likely that the addition of new indices in PP 2017 has conflicted with Security Type usage by (some) users of earlier editions of Personal Plus.  It is very likely that there has been an error in the way PP 2017 imported data from prior versions. (In my instance this was from PP 2016.)
    Archie, it's not an error in the way data is imported from previous versions in comparison to the current. Rather, prior to the introduction of the 2017 range, stocks was the only data being downloaded and as such, 'Type' was disregarded. From 2017 onward, with the introduction of new downloads being available ie. indices, it's crucial that the configuration is set up correctly for One Step Update to work.


    So coming back to you Megan, the troubleshooting path that archieb2 has outlined is a very good suggestion and I would recommend it also based on Peter's success earlier today.
    You have mentioned however that you've attempted this on several stocks already without success and on the flipside, the test/dummy file has proven successful. This could also suggest your installation itself is fine but the data file is corrupt but let's try out Peter and Archie's contributions first and go from there.
  • Peter PollardPeter Pollard Member Posts: 6
    edited March 2017
    Hi Rav,
    Once again the correct price for SCG was downloaded correctly.
    It looks as though I now have a permanent fix to my problem.
    Perhaps some of the others with a similar issue may like to do what I have done.
    The work involved could be worth it in the long run.
    By the way, I have worked with computers for 42 years.
    With kind regards and thanks,
    Peter

  • ArchieArchie Member Posts: 54
    edited March 2017
    Hi Peter,

    "Switch on" Share Price Download Without Re-entering Transactions

    I have been searching for a way to successfully "switch on" share price downloading for problematic shares without having to re-enter transactions.  (I have 400 shares and 20 years of transactions, so re-entering transactions is a daunting prospect.)

    I have identified (stumbled on) a series of steps which work (at least for me).  I cannot explain why they work, however, they appear to "repair" shares without having to re-enter data.

    o  Firstly, as Rav has advised, go to "Security List" under "Investing" and set Assett Class to "Australian Stocks" for all shares of interest.

    o  Got to "Update" then "One step update", "All Accounts", and click on "Select quotes" (in blue).
    o  Now select "Clear All" and click "OK".  The message "You have not selected any securities ... Would you like to do that now?" will appear.
    o  Click "Yes" and select a single share (any share and one share only) and select "Update now".

    a.) Portfolio View

    o  Now go to the Investing Portfolio View screen.
    o  Select a share for which price download has failed.  (It will usually have "est." in the Quote/Price field.

    b.) Security Detail View

    o  You will now be in "Security Detail View:..." for the selected share.
    o  Select "Update", "Download quotes".
    o  This will automatically download quotes.
    o  You will (hopefully) now have the latest 5 days of price quotes for the single share selected.

    o  Repeat a.) and b.) for Each Share of Interest

    o  Note that on some occasions, it has been necessary to perform the price "Update" in the "Security Detail View" more than once for a particular share.

    This is an odd series of steps with no obvious explanation why they work. They have, however, worked for me on at least 20 stocks.

    Give it a try.  Hopefully it will work for you.  As always, I cannot provide a guarantee.  Take care, take small steps, backup before making changes, validate outcomes before proceeding further.

    I will, of course, have to wait intil 9:30 Monday night to find out if the next day's share prices download successfully.  (I, like you, have worked in computing for more than 40 years.)

    Custom Security Types

    Note that I have, over time, created and used several new security types in the "Security Type List" window.  I have retained these "Custom" security types and have not changed them back to "Stock" as has been advised.  Retention of Custom Security Types has not resulted in any problems thus far and it is not my intention to do so unless it is absolutely necessary.  Only time will tell.
  • Peter PollardPeter Pollard Member Posts: 6
    edited March 2017
    Hi Archieb2,
    I am pleased to hear that this has worked for you.
    Peter


  • ArchieArchie Member Posts: 54
    edited June 2017
    "Switch on" Share Price Download Without Re-entering Transactions

    The procedures described below are low risk and only involve changes to settings / parameters which can be reversed.

    I have been searching for a way to successfully "switch on" share price downloading for problematic shares without having to re-enter transactions.  (I have 400 shares and 20 years of transactions, so re-entering transactions is a daunting prospect.)

    I have identified (stumbled on) a series of steps which work (at least for me).  I cannot explain why they work, however, they appear to "repair" shares without having to re-enter data.

    a.)  Set Asset Class to "Australian Stocks"

    o  Firstly, as Rav has advised, go to "Security List" under "Investing" and set "Asset Class" to "Australian Stocks" for all shares of interest.

    b.)  Deselect All Securities in "One Step Update"

    o  Got to "Update" then "One step update", "All Accounts", and click on "Select quotes" (in blue).
    o  Now select "Clear All" and click "OK".  The message "You have not selected any securities ... Would you like to do that now?" will appear.
    o  Click "Yes" and select a single share (any share and one share only) and select "Update now".

    c.) Portfolio View

    o  Now go to the Investing Portfolio View screen.
    o  Select a share for which price download has failed.  (It will usually have "est." in the Quote/Price field).

    d.) Security Detail View

    o  You will now be in "Security Detail View:..." for the selected share.
    o  Select "Update", "Download quotes".
    o  This will automatically download quotes.
    o  You will (hopefully) now have the latest 5 days of price quotes for the single share selected.

    e.)  Repeat c.) and d.) for Each Share of Interest

    o  Note that on some occasions, I have found it necessary to perform the price "Update" in the "Security Detail View" more than once for a particular share.

    o  If the procedures do not work the first time it may be worthwhile trying a second time.  You may also try exiting the software and opening it again.  (This is something Microsoft recommends be done with Windows from time to time.)  If the procedures still do not work try "fiddling" with the procedures a little (with great care).  This is how I "discovered" the procedures in the first place.

    f.)  Re-select All Securities (Mark All) in "One Step Update"

    This is an odd series of steps with no obvious explanation why they work.  They have, however, worked for me for at least 20 stocks.

    Give it a try.  Hopefully it will work for you.

    I will, of course, have to wait until 9:30 Monday night to find out if the next day's share prices download successfully.

    Custom Security Types

    Note that I have, over time, created and used several new security types in the "Security Type List" window.  I have retained these "Custom" security types and have not changed them back to the default "Stock" as has been advised.  Retention of Custom Security Types has not resulted in any problems thus far and it is not my intention to remove them unless it is absolutely necessary.  Only time will tell.

    Caveats and Cautions

    Never assume there is zero risk.  Take care, take small steps, backup before making changes, validate outcomes before proceeding further.  There is no guarantee the procedures will provide a complete solution.  Ultimately, there are no guarantees.  If you feel capable of applying the procedures, then do so.  If you do not feel capable find someone who is.  Alternatives appear to be a.) leave things as they are and apply price updates manually b.) follow advice provided elsewhere.
  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited June 2017
    Thank you Archie! I have tried your method for 3 stocks and the update worked for each individual stock - I had not changed the Security type on these stocks either (pls note Rav). Note when I tried to do a usual update with all stocks marked it still didn't work - so appears I have to go through and update each stock individually.

    Rav - seriously, do I now have to laboriously go through each of my 50+ stocks and do this??? Is there not a better fix Reckon can come up with??

    I have also been a Quicken/Reckon user for over 20 years. This is ridiculous - just glad I'm not running a business with it.
  • ArchieArchie Member Posts: 54
    edited April 2017
    I'm pleased it worked for you Megan.  I do suspect, however, that Rav will respond with a claim that both you and I are mistaken and that his advice remains correct.

    Identification of a solution has taken a great deal of time and a willingness to reject the advice provided by Reckon representatives in the face of repeated of repeated assertions there were no errors in the import of data into PP 2017 from earlier versions.

    This will be a continuing problem as more users upgrade to PP 2017 and Home & Business 2017.

    It will be the most experienced users, who are more likely to have made use of Security Type and Asset Class to organise and manage shares, who will be most affected.

    I am more than astonished by the willingness of Reckon representatives to do damage to the relationship with their most comitted long term users.

    I have more to say on the matter, however, it can wait for another time.  Though, I do anticipate continuing denial.

    Regards,

    Ron
  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited April 2017
    I have a major beef re the Reckon phone help system which charges $5 a minute. Why should we pay for fixing Reckon problems that have inconvenienced us? Instead we get this - slow back and forth that has gone on for over 2 weeks now with a full Reckon solution still not in sight. In the meantime I am avoiding making entries on my 2017 Reckon software as I don't want to have to repeat it all again if something goes wrong.
  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited April 2017
    Hello Rav, any updates?
  • fpilotfpilot Member Posts: 9
    edited May 7
    I have just updated to Personal Plus 2017 and encountered this problem with my share prices but before i work myself into a frenzy can someone please tell me what time the share prices should be available because I vaguely remember seeing somewhere that the prices are now coming from Amazon.

    Thank you for your help.
  • fpilotfpilot Member Posts: 9
    edited April 2017
    This morning the share prices updated OK.  The last time I tried last night was just before 9:00 PM.  I always found that Personal Plus 2016 updated the share prices just after 8:00 PM.
  • ArchieArchie Member Posts: 54
    edited April 2017
    I believe the new share price update time is 9:30 pm.

    Reckon chooses not to inform its users of any changes it makes.  We are left to wonder what it is that we have done wrong and to then search for a solution.

    Reckon appears to make a great deal of money from charging support at $5.00 per minute or $300 per hour to solve problems of their making.

    Reckon does not fix problems with, or errors in, the software installed on our computers.  To do so, Reckon would have to provide updates and patches for us to download and install.  It does not.

    Reckon engages in obsfucation, misdirection and denial in the face of substantive evidence.

    Reckon's behaviour is unconscionable and derelict.
  • ArchieArchie Member Posts: 54
    edited April 2017
    Rav appears to have washed his hands of this matter.

    The unfortunate reality is that Rav and his team are unwilling to correct the problem and are, it would seem, incapable of doing so.
    .
    It is likely that it requires changes to the software and Reckon does not provide software updates or patches.

    I'm continuing to search for a kludge to get around the software error.  Not sure of my chances, however, there are still a couple of options.  Problem is it takes a great deal of time and ultimately there may be no satisfactory solution.
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,760 Administrator
    edited April 2017
    You're entitled to your opinion and we're always open to constructive criticism/feedback Archie, however this Community platform isn't a soapbox.
    Keep the thread on topic.
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,760 Administrator
    edited April 2017
    I think this thread has now provided all the information required to resolve this issue.

    I understand that updating your share prices daily and maintaining your file the way you configured it through various updates is important to you, but the problem expressed here is at the "isolated incident" end of the spectrum and will be resolved by attention to settings and procedures.
    The shares updating successfully when you attempt to do so singularly and in the dummy file you created earlier, leads to the assumption the update mechanism itself is functioning and requires attention to either, configuration, corruption or both.

    An option is to create a new file by using File > File Operations > Year End Copy (use the original start date of your file). This will create a new duplicate copy of your data file.

    image

    Please review Archie's 3 posts above and the links provided by Luke.  
    http://kb.reckon.com.au/issue_view.asp?ID=5513
    http://kb.reckon.com.au/issue_view.asp?ID=5483

    As I've already mentioned, what has changed with One Step Update in the 2017 version is the introduction of Australian Share Market Indices.  This has made the Security Type field a dynamic component to the success of the One Step Update process.  To present the correct values for Indices the Security Type must be set to Market Index to get the correct values for the index.  Previously, it did not matter what the Security Type choice was as it defaulted to the share price format.  

    The role of Customised Security Types is less clear.  We have been instructed that for shares the Security Type can only be Stock.  The tests we've done in responding to your post has produced mixed results - under some conditions it worked with custom security types and under others it did not.  We have reported this behaviour to our developers for further investigation.

    So how should you proceed from here?  Firstly make sure you have covered all the steps outlined by Archie and Luke, but leave your Custom Security Types in place. Test the One Step Update again.  If it was not successful then proceed as follows:

    Check again that in Select Quotes on the One Step Update Settings your shares are ticked for updating.

    Then go to Portfolio view, right click one share and select Security View.  In the top left click on Update and select Download quotes.  Did the share price update to the last trading day?  If it did continue doing this for each share that did not update in your One Step Update run above.  Tomorrow run One Step Update and check whether share prices updated for the latest trading day.

    If share prices did not update on the singular update, or failed on the normal One Step Update the next day, then you will need to change the Security Type from your custom selection to Stock.
  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited April 2017
    OK - I updated all my shares individually and they did update that way. However, when I tried to update them as a group the next day it wouldn't work.

    So - I changed the Security types from the custom types I had previously used for years to Stock. I then tried to update them all as a group - AND THEN IT WORKED.

    However, not all historical prices were downloaded, just the ones for that day. If I go to my portfolio and click on 'download historical prices' it then tells me that its for 'US securities only' - and in any case, the only securities listed that I can choose from are a few I have (managed funds) that are not listed on ASX - any thoughts Rav?


  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited April 2017

    ASX listed Reckon price has dropped from $2.46 at the beginning of 2016 to around $1.66 today (over 30% drop) during a year the Aust All Ords market increased by about 18%.

    Perhaps if customer service could have more focus they might do better? Rav, thanks for your help and you are obviously limited by the parameters Reckon management sets. However, I do think the customer service regarding this issue is terrible. I wonder how many people have had to pay for advice ($5 a minute over the phone) over a software issue that is clearly a Reckon fault. Not good enough.

  • MarkRMarkR Member Posts: 36
    edited April 2017
    I have been a loyal user since Reckon began. I use Home & Business for shares. The security "Type" is important to me, so setting them all to stock destroys an import feature. These current share problems and lack of resolution guarantee that the moment a viable competitor appears I am lost to you. Surely it's cheaper to keep me satisfied than to find a replacement client.
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,760 Administrator
    edited April 2017
    Historical prices will show for US shares, US indexes, and any other incorrectly classified security as Type: Other and/or Asset Class: Unclassified.
    Obviously though, incorrectly classified securities will not work (unless by coincidence it has the same symbol and even then values will be incorrect)
  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited April 2017
    Hi Rav, when I click on download quotes when in my portfolio, it automatically updates - it doesn't give me the opportunity to see a list/dialog box with 'edit securities'. It shows a computer with red dots connecting as the update happens. There is a help box, but it doesn't take me to a securities list.

    Also my NAB shares aren't updating. They are marked as 'stocks' with the correct NAB asx symbol. They only update if I do it individually. i.e. clear all shares from the update box and then mark just NAB. Thoughts?
  • ArchieArchie Member Posts: 54
    edited April 2017
    Hi Megan,

    I believe I have found a way to permantly "turn on" one step share price update for shares previously classified with a user defined custom Security Type.  ( I continue to make extensive use of custom security types.)

    The procedure requires minimal change, is not destructive, and does not require re-entry of transactions.  (It has been effective for me with more than a dozen shares.)

    Steps are:

    o   Create a new security type in Security Type List window.  (I gave my new security type the temporary name "12 New 11Apr17".)

    o   Move a share of interest to the new security type by changing "Type" in the "Edit Security Details" within "Security Detail View ".

    o   Click One Step Update. ( Make sure all shares are selected in "Select quotes" in "One Step Update Settings.)

    o   Click "Update Now".

    Share Price, High, Low, Volume should now be updated (for the last 5 days).

    This has worked for me for many shares which were not updating automatically and were classified with a User Defined Custom Security Type.

    The above steps are designed for testing a single share.

    You should now be able to move multiple shares to the new security type (in my case is "12 New 11Apr17").

    It should also be possible to create multiple new security types, move shares of a similar type to them, delete the old empty security types and rename the new security types to something useful.

    I have not yet tested the whole process as I have other priorities.

    It should be straightforward to undertake some test transfers.  As a precaution, it's always wise to backup beforehand.  The changes are unlikely to cause problems and are far simpler than the ineffective instructions Rav has given.

    I'd like to know if it works for you.

    Regards,  Archie
  • ArchieArchie Member Posts: 54
    edited April 2017
    Hi Mark,

    I am a long term user of PP and make extensive use of user defined Security Types.  The update from PP 2016 to PP 2017 damaged some of the shares classified into the custom Security Types I created causing price downloads to fail.

    After a great deal of experimentation, I have found that creating a new Security Type in the Security Type List window with Asset Class "Australian Stocks" and then moving the corresponding subset of stocks to them has corrected the problem with price updates.

    Reckon recommends all ASX shares be set to Asset Class "Australian Stocks".

    The above process has worked for a dozen or so stocks.

    The change described is low risk and can be easily reversed, however, it is a cludge and cannot be guaranteed.

    As always, backup prior to changes, take small steps, validate.

    I have posted on this issue elswhere in this conversation.
  • reshyamreshyam Member Posts: 1
    edited April 2017
    He was using quicken pp 2016 and had the same problem when We restored a back up all the currency lists and share prices didn't come through so the investments were showing zero. We  think it was because the file got corrupted. Even if I imputed the share 

  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited April 2017
    Hi Rav, my shares are updating ok now (I didn't need to do the year end data copy procedure as above) - all except for NAB, which I can update on its own ...but it won't update when I 'mark all' on the Update box. It is classified as Stock etc i.e. like all my other shares but for some reason Reckon won't update it when I try to update them all together - thoughts?
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,760 Administrator
    edited April 2017
    I'd try unticking it from the Select Quotes list. Perform an update. Then go back and tick it and try again.
  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited April 2017
    Thx Rav, tried that, didn't work. Would only update if I updated NAB on its own.
  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited April 2017
    I didn't try this Archie as I resolved most of my issues by just changing them all to Stock. I had tried updating them individually, which worked, but I wasn't going to do that every day since they wouldn't update as a whole group.
  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited April 2017
    I have tried a few things but am still having trouble getting NAB shares to update with the rest of the group. After a 'mark all' update I get a message in the box after the update telling me that NAB is listed under "missing symbols". However, if I then 'clear all' and mark just NAB it will update.

  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,760 Administrator
    edited April 2017
    We suspect that there is a corruption in your file related to a particular stock which is the underlying cause of the problem you're experiencing. You can test this by going to the dummy file you created earlier, buying a number of shares and running one step update on a number of days to test if NAB updates successfully there.

    A fair warning, what I'm suggesting next is potentially lengthy in terms of time commitment.

    The first thing to attempt is Validate and Super Validate THREE TIMES IN A ROW. Once that is complete, give it a another go.

    If it's still a problem, clean up your list, delete everything you have NEVER traded and don't need to look at anymore ie. market indices.
    Then for stocks you HAVE traded in the past but no longer do, change the code to something arbitrarily eg ZZA, ZZB, ZZC (these must NOT be genuine stock codes). Once complete try One Step Update again. You may receive 'Stock code not found' or '45 of 50 stocks updated' (example) of messages during this exercise.

    Did NAB update?
    No - find the share that is corrupt, each day start by omitting one of the other shares in the list and update. 

    Did it update? If not, progressively keep moving through the list one share at a time until you find that NAB does update. Be methodical about this, perhaps start by selecting the share immediately above or below NAB and then move up/down one each day.
  • Megan RuleMegan Rule Member Posts: 37
    edited April 2017
    Before I tried this (I didn't end up doing it) I noticed I had three different stocks with various versions of the NAB name - Nat Aust Bank, National Australia bank and National Aust Bank. I changed them all to being named  'NAB' - and then the update worked for me. :-)
This discussion has been closed.