How is PAYG determined?

Options
faigey
faigey Member Posts: 37
edited January 3 in Reckon Payroll 🚀

I am relatively new at using Reckons Mobile Payroll App and have a query which I hope someone can clarify for me please. Attached are two PDF copies of screenshots from the app to illustrate the query.

It is to do when creating a pay run.

Example 

Pay date 22/04/23. Period from 01/04/23 to 30/04/23.

Gross salary for that month = $7500

The first screenshot (1) illustrates the data at “Edit Pay Details” from the app.

The second screenshot (2) illustrates the data at “employee details” from the app. This can then be forwarded to ATO.

What I do not understand is how the figure of “PAYG $5382.00 tax withheld is obtained at screenshot (1)  

The second screenshot (2) indicates “tax $1794.00”. Now $1794.00 is in accordance with 2023 ATO tax tables for a salary of $7500.00 per month and so I believe is correct.

The app allows me to override the tax withheld amounts by entering a “custom tax withheld amount of $1794”. However, the “custom tax withheld amount of $5382.00” remains.

The way I have described this may seem confusing, but in essence what I am trying to understand is what does the figure of $5382 mean and how is it determined??

Best Answer

• Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 15,416 Community Manager Community Manager
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @faigey

The display issue affecting tax withheld on the payrun creation screen has now been resolved. Check out the latest update in the post linked above.

ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

Answers

• Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 15,416 Community Manager Community Manager
    Options

Hi @faigey

What have you entered for your employee's tax settings in their employee profile? And more specifically, is it correct for what it should be for that individual's employment?