Reckon hosted new 2022

Lynne_10861778
Lynne_10861778 Member Posts: 8

Hi, I have 2 company files and we have upgraded to version 2022. 1 file shared between 2 other staff members and the other file shared between 2 accountants. Neither of these 2 files will stay to the correct file and open in the no company open box regardless of what preference no is set for companies. Sometimes when the no company box comes up it will have the main file (shared with staff) in there twice though won't open as says cannot find. In the past my 2 companies files just always sat in this no company open box for easy access and there was never any issue. Every time myself or the staff want to open our file we have to go to file and restore a company file and find the right one to use. We find it in the Q drive in the shared folder though when we close out and come back into Reckon later it is the same process as it cannot be found again. I have rang reckon 3 times and they each think they have fixed it though it does the same again. The last reckon support lady said just keep using the files and the Reckon program will eventually recognise which files to keep. We have never had this issue before and I do not believe it is going to correct itself, as it keeps continuing to do the same. My last actual back up was done on the 30th of June and it concerns me as we have done a lot of work since then. I am not sure how to fix this or whether call Reckon Technical support back again and try for the 4th time. Does any one know how to correct this issue?? Thanks Lynne

Comments

  • Lynne_10861778
    Lynne_10861778 Member Posts: 8

    THANK YOU - I appreciate your help and I will try this as I did try to research it several times though did not see this on my journey. Thanks

  • Lynne_10861778
    Lynne_10861778 Member Posts: 8

    Thank you, I just had a quick look and on the Q drive it has our 2 company files ending in the QBW.INI with an older date like the 03-07-22 or if I click on the shared folders it opens up with the 2 company files ending in the QBW.INI with today's date.

    Therefore should I be accessing this file directly from Q drive with old date or from the shared folder on Q Drive with the current date?

    If you could let me know thanks,

    Lynne

  • Datarec_ReckonLtd
    Datarec_ReckonLtd Reckon Staff Posts: 980 Reckon Staff

    Hi Lynne,


    Take note of the file names, file sizes and when those files were last worked with

    Typically once a data file is shared, it gets moved to a shared folder.

    This usually means that the data file in the shared folder, would tend to be larger and contain the most current/recent data.

    Consider the following:

    Reset the Open Previous Company List:

    1. Click on the menu File > Open Previous Company > Set Number of Previous Companies
    2. In the box How many companies do you want to list, enter "1"
    3. Click OK;
    4. Then do the same process and set the number of files you wish to see to a larger value such as "4";
    5. Your "No Company Open" screen should now only show one company file., so now you can go through the process to open all the companies you want visible in the list


  • Lynne_10861778
    Lynne_10861778 Member Posts: 8

    We have done the above many times and so did the Reckon support as they accessed in to my computer remotely and then the companies show there though when we close out of Reckon and come back in they are gone and the ones left there to open won't open.

    Always comes up with that warning sign screen saying to look elsewhere and go open restore like we have been doing. I have to go out of the office for about 2 hours though I will check this all again when back.

    The file in our shared folder is the one we keep opening and working on.

    thanks Lynne

  • Datarec_ReckonLtd
    Datarec_ReckonLtd Reckon Staff Posts: 980 Reckon Staff

    Hi Lynne,


    Consider the following:

    1) Open a data file and confirm that it is the correct file that contains the current data

    2) Make a backup (QBB) and/or a portable file (QBM)

    3) Download those backups/portable files from the Hosted B: drive to your local computer

    4) Click on the File menu and Close the currently open file

    5) Click on the File menu and Exit to end the Accounts session

    5) Follow these steps to un-share the your data files


    6) Once the files have been unshared, launch the Accounts application once more have a look at your Hosted Q: drive and take note of the names of any company data files on the Q: root. Also take a look at any shared folders that may still be existing and confirm whether they have any QBW files in them

    7) Go through the process of sharing the correct QBW files again with the relevant Hosted Users


    8) Go through the steps of renaming the QBW.INI files


    9) Reset the Open Previous Company List once again.

    1. Click on the menu File > Open Previous Company > Set Number of Previous Companies
    2. In the box How many companies do you want to list, enter "1"
    3. Click OK;
    4. Then do the same process and set the number of files you wish to see to a larger value such as "4";
    5. Your "No Company Open" screen should now only show one company file.
    6. Now you can go through the process to open all the companies you want visible in the list, ensuring that you are selecting the correct files to be opened from the new shared folders that they may be in


    If you need assistance with those steps, consult with the Hosted Technical Support Team.

  • Lynne_10861778
    Lynne_10861778 Member Posts: 8

    Thank you I have been out of the office and only back and I had to wait to have staff off the system to do this.

    So basically I am doing all the upgrade again?

    I did get Reckon help in the first place to do this, so it is hard to believe it is not right. Though something is definitely not correct.

    I really would like it sorted this afternoon as it concerns me though it took a long time last time for me to do the back ups. Though thanks for all your help.

  • Datarec_ReckonLtd
    Datarec_ReckonLtd Reckon Staff Posts: 980 Reckon Staff

    Hi Lynne,

    The steps provided make no mention of having to do 'all the upgrade again'.

    If you do not want to create a QBB (backup file) or QBM (portable file), then at least download a copy of the current QBW files (this is done as a safeguard).

    Contact the Technical Support Team and have them assist you with identifying all the instances where there are QBW files on your Hosted account, their names, sizes and locations.

    Then unshare the files, then re-share the files.

    Then reset the Previous Open Company list.

    Then ensure that the correct data files are the ones that have been opened and appear in the No Company Open screen.

  • Lynne_10861778
    Lynne_10861778 Member Posts: 8

    Thank you,

    It just sounded like I needed to un-share and re-share users and start again by basically doing the same as what I did for the upgrade.

    I contacted Reckon Technical Support and they accessed my computer and they still cannot work out why it is all happening, they tried renaming the files etc and lots of other things. I told the guy I had been talking to Reckon staff on here.

    This last guy is escalating the case to see if there is an issue on their end as he said he thinks he has tried all what he can and is going to get back to me as soon as they have found a resolution for the issue....hopefully.

    I had considered sending them our notes from on here.

    Thanks again,

    Lynne