Optus outage affecting receiving MFA (Optus mobile network customers only)

Rav
Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 15,197 Community Manager Community Manager
edited November 2023 in Accounts Hosted


Hi everyone

As you may know Optus is currently experiencing a significant service outage, more info here and here.

This is affecting Optus mobile customers from sending and receiving text messages which will impact the ability to receive MFA codes when logging into the Reckon Portal.


If you're an Optus customer who usually receives your Reckon MFA codes via SMS and need to login to the Reckon Portal, you have the option to change your MFA source to an authenticator app instead, click HERE for more info.

If you'd like to do this, the current SMS option for your MFA will need to removed from your account first. Please get in touch with our support team and they'll be able to organise for you.


ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

Comments

  • JEN
    JEN Member Posts: 29
    edited November 2023

    Hi Rav,

    I am having trouble getting through to technical support. I rang the number I have on record but when I got through, I got a recorded message saying they are busy, try again later.

    Is the phone number 1300 137 657 for STP Tech Help?

    Thanks.

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 15,197 Community Manager Community Manager

    Hi Jen

    Yes that's definitely our support number and the team is open & available so very odd that you'd get that message 🤔 Can you please try again and let me know if you're able to get through.

    Can you let me know which prompt you selected when you called through?


    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

  • AndrewN
    AndrewN Member Posts: 14

    What if I do not want to change my MFA process. This is just not acceptable. Please arrange to provide an email option like everyone else.

  • JEN
    JEN Member Posts: 29

    Hi Rav,

    I tried that phone number several times and at my end, there was no ringtone but the number was on my screen. I did get through last attempt but it went straight to a recorded message saying they were busy and try again later. I am going to try again now. I will report back.

  • AndrewN
    AndrewN Member Posts: 14

    Previously, before the last "upgrade", we could at least use our Reckons accounts info without this MFA stuff. I still do not understand, given that previously you could section off the government connections from the main program, why this was ever changed. I am just glad I do not have to do pays today, that would be a disaster for me and my staff and joy on the face of lawyers would be blinding.

  • JEN
    JEN Member Posts: 29
    edited November 2023

    I tried again and getting the same issue as previous (no ringtone but number is on the screen as if ringing the number). I can't get through.

    It looks like Technical Support is having problems receiving calls. This is not good.

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 15,197 Community Manager Community Manager
    edited November 2023

    Hi Jen

    We've just tested the queues and looked at the call flows and everything is fine on our end. We're receiving calls ok.

    Are you trying to call through to us from an Optus phone service? If so, that'll be the cause.

    Can you shoot me a private message with the email address of your Reckon Portal account and I'll try to get the existing MFA revoked for you.


    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

  • JEN
    JEN Member Posts: 29

    Hi Rav,

    Our landline is with Optus but we have been receiving calls all morning. Our outgoing calls are working ok (just not getting through to your support network).

    I will wait a little longer to see if the Optus tech issues are resolved this afternoon as I really don't want to have to revoke the MFA at all.

    I will however send you a private message if I don't have any other option.

    Thanks for your help.

  • BCS01
    BCS01 Member Posts: 6

    Hi @Rav

    I logged a call with technical support to change over to google authenticator, how long does this take now? The lady I spoke with said between 15 mins and 2 days.

    This is not good my staff need their pays processed today....

    Any ETA would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

    Tanya

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 15,197 Community Manager Community Manager

    Hi @BCS01

    I believe this should already be taken care of for you 🙂


    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

  • JEN
    JEN Member Posts: 29
    edited November 2023

    Hi Rav,

    The Optus outage issue has been resolved but I cant seem to get the MFA code after I hit the send code button.

    What could be the problem?

    Thanks.

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 15,197 Community Manager Community Manager

    Hey @JEN

    I don't think they're quite of the woods just yet. We're keeping a pretty close eye on their updates and the below seems to be latest with any meaningful information.

    I'd guess that it'll still be a little spotty until whatever fix they've implemented rolls out across the full network.


    Select the option to Resend Code after 5 full minutes and fingers crossed it comes through.


    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

  • BCS01
    BCS01 Member Posts: 6

    Hi @Rav

    Thank you, how do I go back to SMS now? Or do you recommend staying with Google Authenticator?

    Regards

    Tanya

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 15,197 Community Manager Community Manager
    edited November 2023

    @BCS01

    Hi Tanya

    You can revoke your current MFA by following the steps listed HERE if you want to switch back to the SMS option. At this stage though, I'd probably recommend just sticking with the authenticator option at least until the Optus issue is confirmed as resolved in full by them.


    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

  • JEN
    JEN Member Posts: 29

    Hi Rav,

    It's working now (MFA) but I have another issue regarding payrun. I'll post that elsewhere.

    Thanks.

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 15,197 Community Manager Community Manager

    Hi all

    It looks as though Optus have now confirmed they have resolved the issues they were experiencing today.

    For any Reckon software users who use Optus as their service provider for mobile services, your MFA codes via SMS for the Reckon Portal should now be back to normal.



    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.