Creating a new company

Jamie StewartJamie Stewart Member Posts: 16
edited July 2018 in Accounts Hosted
I have been doing the bookkeeping for a company for a number of years using Reckon Hosted.

This company has purchased another company.  I now need to keep records for both companies.

Do I set up a company file for the second company simply by clicking on File/New Company then follow the prompts?  Is it easy to move between the two company files?

Comments

  • Glenda VealeGlenda Veale Member Posts: 178
    edited November 2017
    Yes, set up the new company file and then you just view previous company and can switch back and forth as needed.  Works very well.  Just be careful which company file you are in when making any entries.
  • Jamie StewartJamie Stewart Member Posts: 16
    edited November 2017
    Thanks so much Glenda.  I'll give it a go.  Thanks for the speedy response.
  • Glenda VealeGlenda Veale Member Posts: 178
    edited November 2017
    Also if the new company uses the same chart of accounts you can export from the current company to the new.  Just select None/Other in the Industry tab and only a few accounts will be set up in the new company.

  • Glenda VealeGlenda Veale Member Posts: 178
    edited November 2017
    I had to do this just this week
  • Jamie StewartJamie Stewart Member Posts: 16
    edited November 2017
    that will be handy.  Thanks.
Sign In or Register to comment.