Adjusting personal leave for employee returning after 2 years

Options

One of our employees resigned just over 2 years ago and moved to another state. I made him a non-active employee. He recently returned to the area and started working for us again part time.

His Annual Leave was paid out when he left and I have adjusted his Long Service Leave. However, his Personal Leave is accruing from when he left us two years ago. I don't seem to be able to adjust this. He should be starting from zero. Do I need to terminate this employee and set him up from scratch again?

Best Answers

  • Sue_10075371
    Sue_10075371 Member Posts: 41
    Answer ✓
    Options

    Thanks Kris. You've been a big help. 😀

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,587 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited September 2023 Answer ✓
    Options

    @Sue_10075371 No, it won’t impact anything if you “Terminate” old employees in the system now ☺️

    It’s best to do that in case you ever need to refer to that information & when they left in the future eg in an audit, Centrelink / ATO query etc

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)

Answers

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,483 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    There may have been some personal leave in there that you forgot to zero out. Otherwise go into the leave tab and look at the date that it’s set to start accruing from

  • Sue_10075371
    Sue_10075371 Member Posts: 41
    Options

    Hi Kris

    Do you mean to zero the personal leave out on this screen? It doesn't seem to make any difference to the personal leave showing on the payslip. I've adjusted holiday and LSL here and that worked fine but personal leave is 'remembering' time from before Chris left. Any other ideas?


  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,483 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited September 2023
    Options

    It won’t reflect on past payslips, only on the next one I believe - you could go into the last pay and make a change to it, ok the change, then go back and change it back, and see if this changes the current payslip

    you have yet to put the new weekly accrual rate in here haven’t you?

    you can call me if you wish 0415 940 843

  • Sue_10075371
    Sue_10075371 Member Posts: 41
    Options

    Hi Kris

    I was a bit wary of changing a payslip from two years ago! The accounts might complain. I realised I had not adjusted the Holiday Accrued hours etc after I printed the payslip. I changed the Holiday Accrued hours after printing and this did reflect on the screen copy (but not on the printable one) but this was not reflected on the screen copy for Personal Leave Accrued. The rate did show correctly but the Hours Available is still adding the hours from two years ago.

    I did put in the new weekly accrual rate but I took it out again to see what difference it made. I've put this back in now.

    I might see what happens next pay now that the adjustments have been made. I'll make a note of your number in case I've still got a problem. Hope that's ok. 😊

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,483 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    It wouldn’t change payslips from 2 years ago, not even the last one unless you made a change to the pay as I suggested

    There are some settings about what you want to display on the payslip you could check this out, not sure if personal leave is one of the choices.

    ok see how you go, happy to help if I can

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,587 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited September 2023
    Options

    @Sue_10075371 It’s important to “Terminate” the employee when they leave - & even more so with STP2 - as this status change needs to be reported.

    The system allows you to Re-Hire an employee & this way, also recognises commencement & termination dates for automatic v ceasing leave accruals ☺️

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Sue_10075371
    Sue_10075371 Member Posts: 41
    Options

    Hi Shaz

    Do I need to go through other old employees and terminate them, or just make sure I do so now since the STP2?

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,483 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited September 2023
    Options

    I would always terminate employees so their payment summary reflects the time they worked, otherwise they could be seen as having 2 jobs at the same time, and possibly not paying enough tax. If I have employees leave and there is a chance they might come back in the current financial year I look at them before the 30/6 and if they haven’t returned I terminate them as at their last pay

    i wouldn’t think it was necessary to terminate any who left in the previous financial year though.

  • Sue_10075371
    Sue_10075371 Member Posts: 41
    Options

    Hi Kris

    So it won't affect anything else in Reckon if I go back and terminate those who left several years ago?

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,483 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    No, only for your own personal records - that’s my opinion only