Payroll items list - all items have changed?

Options
Liza Oates
Liza Oates Member Posts: 70 ✭✭
edited March 25 in Accounts Hosted

I have just come back from leave. Trying to process payroll run for fortnightly run and whilst in enter payroll infomration trying to check paycheques and every employee has no PAYG tax or Super calculating on their fortnightly pay.


When I check the payroll items list - all the items have changed?


Can someone help with this - I do not want to have to go through every person and manually change the payroll items and cant find anything about this happening before

Using RECKON ACCOUNTS HOTED

Comments

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,589 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Hi Liza

    That sounds very odd 🤔

    “ … When I check the payroll items list - all the items have changed ..?” - In what way exactly ?

    Does anyone else access the file ?

    Have you created any new Payroll Items or Employees recently ?

    Unfortunately, it’s difficult to pinpoint the cause without seeing it & having more background information.

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Liza Oates
    Liza Oates Member Posts: 70 ✭✭
    Options


    Hi Shaz

    In the list of payroll items every hourly paid payroll item has had the PAYG and State Payroll Tax Button unticked and no super is calculating on single time entries. This is the same for inactive payroll items too.


    When I tried to process payroll yesterday in the check list every employee's pay was not calculating what super was payable and was not deducting any PAYG.

    THe only way I have been able to correct the payment is to go into every payroll list item I use and tick the PAGY, State Payroll Tax and super and this rectified the issue.

    However, every payroll list item has changed. I know this cannot be done globally and you have to go into the items individually so expect it is something to do with RECKON updates.

    I have set up some additional allowance payments and had quantities box ticked - this has changed this so the amount appears on selected individuals pay and will not let you enter the quantity.


    screen shots of some of the payroll items and what has happened


    also please see Holiday Loading payroll item


    This is still missing

  • Liza Oates
    Liza Oates Member Posts: 70 ✭✭
    Options

    Hi Shaz


    Thank you for your email


    I did create new employees but I did not create any new payroll items in order to pay them

    Kind regarsds

    Liza

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,589 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Hi Liza

    Very strange ... As far as I'm aware, this doesn't appear to be a known issue as I've not heard of anyone else experiencing that 😟

    Certain selections for new Payroll Items will impact existing ones & as a result, will require you to check/update the original one's configuration so this is why I asked if you've created any new ones.

    Are you verifying your Company File regularly ? It's important to do this as data can become corrupted over time. Try running the Rebuild 3 times (For some reason rebuilding THREE times fixes a lot of issues!)

    These data tools are under the File dropdown menu > Utilities

    Failing that, would suggest it's more likely a configuration issue so it would need further investigation of the Company File Preferences, new Employee(s) & Payroll Items setup to identify.

    See how you go with the Rebuilds ... I'm happy to take a look if you need.

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Liza Oates
    Liza Oates Member Posts: 70 ✭✭
    Options

    Hi Shaz

    Thank you for your suggestion. The issue I have is my file is very large over 1.2M KB and whenever I create a backup this normally takes 1/2 a day.


    Kind regards

    Liza

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,589 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    edited March 26
    Options

    Hi Liza

    I'd recommend going through the suggestions for reducing the file size:

    (You can ignore #8 - Network Issues as this relates to the desktop version) 😊

    There's another important factor not mentioned in the above - the Transaction Log (known as the TLG) file. Resetting this can also make a big difference:

    https://help.reckon.com/article/87mkjxf1fa-how-to-reset-a-tlg-file

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Datarec_ReckonLtd
    Datarec_ReckonLtd Reckon Staff Posts: 1,142 Reckon Staff
    Options

    Hi @Liza Oates

    When would be the most recent time that you have made a backup using the built-in backup function of the Reckon Accounts Hosted software from a time before your payroll items had unexpectedly changed?


    You indicated that "my file is very large over 1.2M KB".

    If you meant 1.2 GB is the size of your company data file (QBW), then there is the possibility that the backup process to create a backup file (QBB) takes such a long time due to the existence of a very large TLG file (transaction log file) that exists alongside your very large QBW file.

    That issue can be resolved using the instructions provided by Shaz @Acctd4

  • Liza Oates
    Liza Oates Member Posts: 70 ✭✭
    Options

    Hi Reckon Data Recovery

    I do not backup the file in RECKON on a regular basis as the file is too large and every user has to be out of the account. With the problem with RECKON closing down if it sees no activity you are unable to leave it to try and do this overnight.


    see snippet of size of my file.

    My accounts are updated to a remote server and disks are taken home with copies of the data.

    I can see my TLG file is also very large.

    We are supposed to be moving to a new accounts package in the next three months

  • Liza Oates
    Liza Oates Member Posts: 70 ✭✭
    Options

    @Shaz Hughes

    I will try to see if I can follow the instructions you have uploaded and really appreciate your help and support.

    Thank you.


    Kind regards

    Liza

  • Liza Oates
    Liza Oates Member Posts: 70 ✭✭
    Options

    @Shaz Hughes


    Following guideslines in the extract my DB fragments is greater than 50 I have created a Portable backupfile and are trying to restore this but this still takes a very long time

    I am not very technical with issues like this and always worry other users will then be working on the wrong files.

    I have logged a case with RECKON Support but todate are still awaiting their response.


    Thanks

    Kind regards

    Liza

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,589 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    I don't have as much to do with the technical side, my expertise is more with the accounting side & the program features.

    @Rav are you able to follow this up with tech support for @Liza Oates ?

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Datarec_ReckonLtd
    Datarec_ReckonLtd Reckon Staff Posts: 1,142 Reckon Staff
    Options

    Hi @Liza Oates

    Did you get in touch with the Hosted Technical Support Team to assist you with:

    1) Having all user logged off

    2) Having only the user logged in as "Admin" in Single-User mode

    3) Creating a portable file

    4) Exit the company data file, whilst still having the Reckon Accounts Hosted application open

    5) Rename the existing data file "TWSPL new.QBW" to something like "TWSPL - ORIGINAL Before Portable.QBW"

    6) Restore the portable file so that the resulting QBW file is correctly placed in the correct shared folder path location \\RAH-FSS-12-AP2A\086122-1239994-TWSPLnew$

    7) Giving the restored QBW file the same name that it is know by all shared users "TWSPL new.QBW"

    8) Then check the DB Fragments to confirm it has decreased



  • Liza Oates
    Liza Oates Member Posts: 70 ✭✭
    Options

    Hi @Reckon Data Recovery Team

    Unfortunately Hosted Technical Support were not much help and there is usually a language barrier as well since they are not from Australia - they sent me an email rather than contact me by phone.


    The problems is the size of the file - it takes more than 4 hours to do the portable back up. In addition you can't leave the system running to do this overnight as it logs you out autmatically

    We are going to try and arrange for the verify and backup to be done every month early afternoon.


    Kind regads

    Liza

  • Datarec_ReckonLtd
    Datarec_ReckonLtd Reckon Staff Posts: 1,142 Reckon Staff
    Options

    HI @Liza Oates

    If you can, try to follow the steps provided above and review the help article

    • Get a copy of the Reckon Accounts Enterprise desktop software that you can install on your local computer
    • Download a copy of your company data file QBW from the Hosted platform to your local computer.
    • When you download a copy of the QBW file, this means you will have the original file that is still on the Hosted Q: drive or shared folder location AND you will have the copy that has been downloaded (so you will end up with a second copy which can act as a 'backup').
    • Doing this is much faster than doing a backup on the Hosted platform itself if your file is very large.
    • Use the locally installed Reckon Accounts Enterprise software to perform the backup or portable file creation process, again it is faster and does not time out.
    • Use the locally installed Reckon Accounts Enterprise software to perform the Verify Data and Rebuild Data operations on a COPY of your data file. This is also faster and does not time-out. If there are no errors detected, then you can just continue using the file that is already still on the Hosted platform.
    • If there are errors detected, then stop any further changes on the file that is on the Hosted platform, whilst you get assistance from the Hosted Technical Support Team to review the 'error log' called "QBWIN.LOG" that is created as a result of the verify data/rebuild data process.
    • If the built-in Rebuild Data function does not correct the issue then the Hosted Technical Support Team can escalate the issue to the Data Recovery Team for further investigation.
  • Liza Oates
    Liza Oates Member Posts: 70 ✭✭
    Options

    Hi @Reckon Data Recovery Team

    Our company does not have a copy Reckon Accounts Enterprise desktop software

    Do I have to purchase this?


    Kind regards

    Liza

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,589 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert
    Options

    Hi Liza

    Hosted is actually the desktop Enterprise version but 'hosted' on Reckon's servers (hence the name!) so Reckon allows users to download a complimentary copy of the desktop program. It's not automatic but if you contact Reckon to request, they will make it available for you 😊

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • Datarec_ReckonLtd
    Datarec_ReckonLtd Reckon Staff Posts: 1,142 Reckon Staff
    Options

    Hi @Liza Oates

     

    With a valid Reckon Accounts Hosted subscription, you are eligible for a single-user licence of the Reckon Accounts Enterprise desktop product which is compatible with the Hosted application.

    You can perform the steps below while you have an active paid subscription to the Hosted platform.

    If your Reckon Accounts Hosted subscription is expiring soon, perform the steps below before your subscription expires.

    For users with expired Hosted subscriptions, you may need to re-activate your subscription to be eligible.

     

    For assistance with the download or installation process over-the-phone, you can contact the Reckon Accounts Hosted Technical Support Team.

    Get help over-the-phone with following instructions

     

    Requesting, downloading and installing a single user Reckon Accounts Enterprise desktop software

     

    1. Request a “Reckon Accounts Enterprise Desktop Single-user” licence by contacting the Customer Service Team.

    We recommend that you do this process while you are speaking with them, so you can ask any other questions if needed.

    Contact details for the Customer Service Team

     

    2. To acquire the software itself, you need to login to the Support Hub to download the installer software.

     https://www.reckon.com/au/support/downloads-guides/

    ··      Go to the Reckon Accounts Business product section

     


     

    ·      Select the Accounts Business 2023 tab to expand it       

     

    ·      Click the download link for the Reckon Accounts 2023 product

     

    ·      Also download any relevant guides

     

     

     

    3. Once you have downloaded the main Reckon Accounts 2023 program installer,

     

    ·      Restart your computer (recommended)

     

    ·      Then install the software as the Enterprise version.

     

    ·      After you have installed the Reckon Accounts Enterprise program, restart your computer.

     

     

     

    You need to have the compatible “Reckon Accounts Enterprise” single-user desktop software installed in order to open the data file that came from the Hosted platform.

     Once your file is opened on the Reckon Accounts Enterprise desktop software, you can perform your usual tasks.

     ·      Report generation

    ·      File maintenance

     

    IMPORTANT: Be aware that any changes to the local copy of the

    data file that is opened with the desktop Enterprise software will not

    automatically be reflected in the data file that is on the Hosted platform.

     

    Additional guides:

    Uploading or downloading the files to and from Reckon Accounts Hosted (Written instructions)

    Uploading and Downloading Company Files to the new Reckon Accounts Hosted (Video instructions)