Welcome to the brand new Reckon Community!

For some tips on getting started check out the 'About Reckon Community' section

Cant open files after upgrade, Reckon Accounts Personal Plus 2017, I reckon it's crook!

Juliet BuchananJuliet Buchanan Member Posts: 4
edited March 2017 in Accounts Personal Range
Hi Can anyone help with upgrade issues. So far I have spent $250 and cant access my files. I upgraded Reckon Accounts Personal Plus 2017 I use a PC with Windows 10. $200 for ugrade and $50 not getting my issue resolved by 'Help' at just under $5 A MINUTE! I get this message "This file contains one or more accounts that require access to features not currently activated (e.g. investing, Business) ..." So it says unable to open selected files. Yet those tabs show up on my empty files. Then i try to activate I get errors and Reckon closes.

Comments

  • gazza73gazza73 Accredited Partner Posts: 1,438 ✭✭
    edited February 2017
    Juliet

    I'd be curious if you 'had'  or have now 'installed'    the Home and Business version in the past (or now),?   Consider YOUR situation, compared to these articles.  Despite being 2015, those articles talk of the same symptom.  One thing you COULD consider,  is to simply start the latest program up, but open the TEST COMPANY files  and then do a HELP -->  ABOUT to see whether you are now running 2017 Personal Plus,   OR:  2017 Home and Business.

    Try to recall from your previous invoices,  which products you USED TO run, and what one you run now.  

    The SAME DISTRIBUTION kit allows you to  install either of these products,  its all triggered by the INSTALL-CODE you use at the time.


    Check these former articles from the forum, and see if they trigger some thoughts about your situation:

    https://community.reckon.com/reckon/topics/reckon-accounts-personal-error-opening-file


    https://community.reckon.com/reckon/topics/new-install-wont-open-existing-data-file-personal-plus-20...


    https://community.reckon.com/reckon/topics/need-help-to-recover-from-system-crash



    Cheers,


    Gary Pope
    m: 0408994799 
    e:  [email protected]
    An Accredited Partner- Consultant (VIC. Aust)
    http://www.alchester.com.au/reckon-ac...
    "Working with Accountants/Bookkeepers PPs/APs, as an
         independent IT Professional and retired FCPA Accountant"

  • Juliet BuchananJuliet Buchanan Member Posts: 4
    edited March 2017
    Hi Gary

    Thanks, I am running and have installed Reckon Accounts Personal Plus 2017. I upgraded from Reckon Accounts Personal Plus 2015, so I cant see the problem.
    Juliet
  • gazza73gazza73 Accredited Partner Posts: 1,438 ✭✭
    edited February 2017
    Can you open the TEST company data file, and see HELP-> About     declaring that it is really {personal Plus,  is that what you mean by 'running/.?
  • Juliet BuchananJuliet Buchanan Member Posts: 4
    edited February 2017
    Yes, I did that and it is.
  • Juliet BuchananJuliet Buchanan Member Posts: 4
    edited March 2017
    It was the wrong software sold to me.
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 10,726 Administrator
    edited March 2017
    Hi Juliet,

    It definitely sounds like something has gone wrong there as it doesn't sound normal at all.
    We've had a chat with our Data Recovery team around your problem and if you're still experiencing this, the team will take a look into this for you. What you'll need to do is submit a request to our Data Recovery team here and be sure to quote this Community thread in the request notes.
Sign In or Register to comment.