Can I use MS Office 64 bit with RA2018 ?

Steve CookSteve Cook Member Posts: 161 ✭✭
edited August 2020 in Accounts Business Range
Environment:
Computer: Intel i7, 16 GB RAM
Windows 10 Professional 64-bit fully updated
Reckon Accounts Premier 2018
MS Office Professional 2016

Currently using MS Office 32-bit.
RA sends emails through Outlook 2016 with no issues

Considering changing to MS Office 64-bit
Will RA send email correctly through Outlook 2016 64-bit ?

Has anyone already tried this ?

Comments

  • ZappyZappy Accredited Partner Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2019
    Did you check the system requirements?
  • Steve CookSteve Cook Member Posts: 161 ✭✭
    edited August 2019
    Minimum system requirements:
    • 2.0 GHz Intel® Pentium® IV (or equivalent)
    • At least 512MB of RAM for a single user and at least 1GB of RAM for multiple, concurrent users
    • 1GB of RAM for Windows® Vista, 7, 8 and 10 users (Windows 8 &10 require 1GB for 32-bit & 2GB for 64-bit)
    • 1GB RAM for Windows Server 2003/2008/2012*
    • Windows 7/8/10 operating system
    • 2.5 GB of disk space (additional space required for company files)
    • Microsoft® Internet Explorer 7.0 or later required
    • Microsoft® .NET Framework Common Language Runtime 2.0 & 3.5 (provided on Reckon Accounts Installation DVD, requires an additional 150MB)
    My computer is well above that
    This is the question....
    Will RA send email correctly through 64-bit Outlook 2016 ?
    Has this been tested ?
  • RavRav Administrator Posts: 9,894 Administrator
    edited June 2018
    Hi Steve,
    I've checked with the product team on this and there have been some issues with Outlook 64bit for some users and not for others so its not very definitive.
  • Robert SmeallieRobert Smeallie Member Posts: 84
    edited June 2018
    Hi Rav,

    I'm running the latest Windows 10, Microsoft Office 365 64bit version. Question: Which Outlook are you talking about? Is it the Outlook in the Office, and if so, are you using it as a pop mail reader or a html mail reader? I had previously been using Outlook as a pop mail reader for years so I could keep a record of my emails in their folders but then when Windows 10 was installed, Yahoo Mail and Gmail spat the dummy on pop and smtp mail, saying there was insufficient security using those formats and insisting I use the HTML based email reader like getting your mail directly from Hotmail.com or Live.com or Outlook.com using your web browser to read from your email account.

    I couldn't even use Mozilla Thunderbird as it is a pop mail reader. Anyway, that was my experience. Others might have had better luck getting their email. Now I'm using the Mail App in Windows 10 which lets me open any of my HTML emails from the one app.

    Robert Smeallie
  • ZappyZappy Accredited Partner Posts: 4,463 ✭✭✭
    edited June 2018
    No one uses pop servers any more We use IMAP servers. Pop servers are passe
  • Steve CookSteve Cook Member Posts: 161 ✭✭
    edited August 2019
    Kevin, I use POP for 5 email accounts, including gmail.com, Hotmail.com and outlook.com. All work correctly in Outlook 2016 if configured properly.
    Reason ? An incident couple years ago my domain provider managed to lose large amount of emails from mail server, and no backups.
    If I was using IMAP would have lost the lot.
    Using POP, I have local copies of PST files which I backup myself.

    Anyway that's a bit off-topic......

  • Steve CookSteve Cook Member Posts: 161 ✭✭
    edited March 2019
    Now that RA2019 is released, I have done the following:

    Remove RA2018 
    Remove MS Office 32-bit
    Reboot

    Install MS Office 64-bit, configure email accounts etc
    Check Outlook is default email app (yes it is)
    Install RA2019
    Update all company files to RA2019, no problems

    BUT.....
    Email issues as per these articles, and the fixes/workarounds did not work
    http://kb.reckon.com.au/issue_view.asp?ID=1845
    http://kb.reckon.com.au/issue_view.asp?ID=4062

    Removed MS Office 64-bit
    Installed MS Office 32-bit
    All OK no issues

    In summary
    RA2019 IS NOT COMPATIBLE WITH MS OFFICE 64-BIT

    Too time consuming to remove/reinstall MS Office
    Try this, try that etc
    I'm not going to waste any more time on this

    And NO ! I will not move to the cloud !

    Developers, please move with the times
    Make RA desktop products compatible with MS Office 64-bit



  • Tony WestTony West Member Posts: 20
    edited July 2019
    Hi to all.
    Thanks Steve Cook, spot on with your comments! Finally some one who calls it for what it is.
    I have spent the last week setting up a new computer after a serious crash, but like Steve I cannot get RA2019 R2P to email seamlessly with office outlook 365 64bit.
    Tried all the fixes from Reckon and MS they are just not compatible.
    Like you Steve, no problem on my wife's computer which runs office outlook 365 however in 32bit.
    PLEASE PLEASE issue a patch for RA Desktop.
    Tony (RA user since 1992)
      
  • Steve CookSteve Cook Member Posts: 161 ✭✭
    edited July 2019
    Hi Tony

    When you log on MS to download MS Office (2016, 2019 or 365), it is 64-bit by default.
    For Reckon compatibility, have to select 32-bit installation.
    Something like "Other install options" (can't remember exact words)

    See my environment in original post of this thread
    All hardware fully 64-bit compatible and plenty of power
    I run a large Access database that would benefit by using 64-bit MS Office

    RA forces me to 32-bit MS Office

    Windows has been default 64-bit since Win-7 (10 years)
    MS Office has been optional 64-bit since 2010, now default 64-bit
    Yes a 64-bit version of Reckon is definitely needed
    Reckon needs to move with the times.........

  • Tony WestTony West Member Posts: 20
    edited July 2019
    Hi Steve.
    Could not agree more.
    At least your post has confirmed the issue and I can stop pulling my hair out trying to fix it.
    Come on Reckon, let's move forward!
    Tony.
  • Steve CookSteve Cook Member Posts: 161 ✭✭
    edited August 2019
    Thanks Tim. Explains perfectly 
  • Tony WestTony West Member Posts: 20
    edited August 2019
    After reading the link, am it correct to say what I need to do is uninstall Office 365 64 bit and re install it as 32 bit ?
    Tony
  • SpillySpilly Member Posts: 212
    edited August 2020
    Yes
Sign In or Register to comment.