searching for a guide for implementing ATO reporting requirements to the program

berniedehmel
berniedehmel Member Posts: 20
edited December 2021 in Reckon Accounts (Desktop)

I'm using Reckon Accounts Plus 2021 Release R2 and I'm searching for a guide for implementing ATO reporting requirements to the program. I see that the previous STP app has been retired and I need to report via the new 'Payroll App'.


From what I've gathered so far, I need to install the Payroll App to my android phone in order to meet reporting requirements but would like to stay on my PC if at all possible to fulfill my payroll reporting requirements.


If that's not possible, I'd also like to know if the Payroll App will look after the super payments for me or do I need to go through the Small Business Superannuation Clearing House as I used to do.


I'd also like to confirm if I choose to use your Payroll App, it still requires me to create a Reckon Portal Account.


cheers

Best Answer

  • Zappy
    Zappy Accredited Partner Posts: 5,330 Accredited Partner Accredited Partner
    edited December 2021 Answer ✓

    Bernie one wonders why you didn't do this originally. The information is in the help files. Its also on you tube. And you can call me any time. I'm always here

Answers

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,287 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert

    I’m pretty certain it’s all built in, you shouldn’t need to install anything on the phone. Go to Employees tab and look for something that says STP

  • berniedehmel
    berniedehmel Member Posts: 20

    Apologies all. I just see that I posted this in the wrong group...

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,287 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert

    That’s ok my answer was for Reckon Accounts Plus, I believe that’s what you’re using

  • berniedehmel
    berniedehmel Member Posts: 20

    Yes Kris, that's what I'm using (y)

  • berniedehmel
    berniedehmel Member Posts: 20

    So there's no tab/option or selection for STP and I also noted that according to the help files (don't know how current they are) that there's supposed to be and option to select for STP enablement in the preferences Payroll & Employees Comapny Preference Tab which is not there on my current version...?

  • berniedehmel
    berniedehmel Member Posts: 20

    I've managed to sort access (just now) to Single Touch Payroll - Reckon GovConnect and after jumping through all the hoops to get myself authorised, it's opened the web page stp.reckon.com/company where it looks as if that's where I'm supposed to do my reporting????

  • Rav
    Rav Administrator, Reckon Staff Posts: 15,356 Community Manager Community Manager
    edited December 2021

    Hi @berniedehmel

    This tutorial video is a couple of years old now but I'd highly recommend that you give it a watch it goes over the whole Single Touch Payroll process with Reckon Accounts (desktop)



    Alternatively, there are also step by step help guides for STP with Reckon Accounts here starting from the page linked below -



    ℹ️ Stay up to date with important news & announcements for your Reckon software! Click HERE for more info.

  • Kris_Williams
    Kris_Williams Member Posts: 3,287 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert

    You should read through the tutorial,, have you logged onto the tax portal, access manager, and entered the software code?

  • Acctd4
    Acctd4 Accredited Partner Posts: 3,395 Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert Reckon Accounts Hosted Expert

    @berniedehmel The Payroll App is for those who don't have accounting software with integrated payroll. The program you're using - Reckon Accounts Plus - has integrated payroll so the setup & configuration for STP is done via that, utilising Reckon's Portal ("GovConnect") for STP submissions/reporting 😁

    Shaz Hughes Dip(Fin) ACQ NSW, MICB

    *** Reckon Accredited Partner (AP) Bookkeeper - specialising EXCLUSIVELY in Reckon Accounts / Hosted ! ***

    * Regd BAS Agent (No: 92314 015)* ICB-Certified Bookkeeper* Snr Seasonal Tax Consultant since 2003 *

    Accounted 4 Bookkeeping Services

    Ballajura, WA

    shaz@accounted4.com.au

    https://accounted4.com.au

    (NB: Please give my post a Like or mark as Accepted Answer if I have been able to resolve your query as this helps others when seeking solutions!)
  • berniedehmel
    berniedehmel Member Posts: 20
    edited December 2021

    Kris_Williams

    I did manage to get connected to Single Touch Payroll - Reckon GovConnect by calling the phone number provided during the process and have double checked that Reckon is noted as the 'Hosted SBR Software Service' as my nominated service provider via the RAM Access Manager.

    Your prompt in relation to that is why I decide to logon and have a look. I reckon that it always pays to get confirmation...

    As for reading the tutes... Those were my first port of call but a combination of the differences between my software and the tutorials being based on older versions is what was holding me up as there's many to go through and with the limited time I had available to me yesterday, I thought approaching the community for help and advice would save me some time and provide further insight; so thanks very much for replying to my query 🙂👍

  • berniedehmel
    berniedehmel Member Posts: 20

    Hey there Rav,

    Thank You for your feedback which directed me to the help file that I had already been using (which is how I registered my software) to begin with but It wasn't till I followed the link - "Preparing Your Company File" that I noted the highlighted notification indicating that my software didn't require 'Enabling STP' as mine is a later version than the help file itself refers to.

    As the help files themselves are not dated or timestamped, it left me drawing my own inferences and as my personal history has shown me the folly of doing so... it is, as I mentioned to Kris, that a trip to the community knowledge bank might be in order.

    I have your YouTube channel bookmarked and have used it before so I can also draw on that knowledge bank. I saw that video but didn't feel I had the time (at that point to go through it) and again, due to my understanding of what I had already been reading, I thought that it might no longer apply as that video was posted 3 years ago and the more current help files were all saying that the 'STP' function of the software was being disabled in favour of the new "Payroll App".

    I now see that I was my misinterpretation that was causing me the most grief 🙃

    I viewed the video late last night and although it doesn't relate specifically to the latest edition of the software, there's enough information there that does cross over so again I used it more as a verification tool to let me know that I had (eventually) muddled through on my own 🤓

    Thanks again for taking the time to reply; No doubt I'll be back again for more direction and help in pulling me from a quagmire of my own making 😉

  • berniedehmel
    berniedehmel Member Posts: 20
    edited December 2021

    Zappy

    When's a good time to ring you?

  • berniedehmel
    berniedehmel Member Posts: 20

    Acctd4

    Thanks for your reply 🙂

    I was (eventually) able to figure that out 👍 and came to realize that the Payroll App was pretty much the same a FAS, which is what I used to use in conjunction with my previous iteration of Quickbooks Pro.

    I am now investigating the 'why fors and what nots' of Super Payments and it's looking like (although I'm happy to be pointed in a simpler or quicker direction) that I'll simply add a holding account and make those payments the way I had previously done which is through the Super Clearing House...

    cheers